We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back of Smearton's Pier on lovely October day
From Pier view across bay to Porthminster beach cafe in October sunshine
Lugger
The Tate St Ives
Starlings on the Pier
The infamous Ice Cream snatcher on Smearton's Pier
Sunset from Clodgy Point 15 minutes walk from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A gem in a superb location. Hidden away, nestled alongside quaint yet outstanding art galleries and Hepworth sculpture. St Ives was bustling but you wouldn't have known it thanks to the private and secure entrance to Porthmeor beach, quite possibly St Ives best.

The apartment is compact and well presented with everything you'd need. Personal and friendly service from the owners. We cannot recommend The Old Salt House more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Dear Matthew

I would just like to thank you for your very kind review regarding your stay in the Old Salthouse in April and look forward to seeing you both again, in the not too distant future, when you can explore even more of St Ives.

Kind regards, Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
town7339
Cheltenham, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in St Ives, only 50 yds from Porthmeor beach, with a parking space !”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic week we had here. Our hosts were really pleasant to deal with throughout and we couldn't fault it. Perfect location being so close to the beach yet only a 3 minute walk from the harbour and shops.

Very quiet spot in a private complex meant we were never disturbed by noise. Apartment is ideal for a couple - young or old.

Despite the location we found that driving through the small streets wasn't as bad as expected; an easy route round the harbour, up the hill... and we were there. The one-way streets didn't pose a problem at all.

Would recommend The Old Salthouse without hesitation and would give it a perfect 10 out of 10. We will be back as soon as we can !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, just off the beach”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great place to stay, studio is spacious, clean and well equipped. Parking and free wi-fi are added bonuses. Seconds away from Porthmeor beach.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler3511...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Old Salthouse was a lovely ,comfortable and well equipped studio apartment. The location is fabulous for town and beach. Shirley the owner made us extremely welcome and was extremely accommodating. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela D
Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beachside position with private parking right outside!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartment, clean and well equipped. Added bonus of having own parking space right outside the property, car hardly moved all week. Also loved the fact that we had private access to the beach....although it did get a bit scary when the storms hit...cant have it all ways can we!!
Nice welcome from Tim who was very helpful, dissapointed we didnt get to meet Shirley though!!
Great local shop at the end of the road which stocks just about everything and stays open late!!
Great New Years Eve on St.Ives harbour front, locals are so friendly!!
Sadly we chose to leave the apartment early hours of the morning on our last day due to the storms and risk of flooding ( lady across the way was evacuated later that morning ).....a little dissapointed that no one came to check that we were o.k...had to post the keys through the letterbox at Cornerways...still awaiting confirmation that they were received : (
Apart from this we had a great time and I would recommend this apartment to anyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and parking.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. The weather was exceptionally bad during your stay and I do apologise I couldn't personally be there during this time but I am glad you had such a nice stay and I would be very happy to welcome you back at any time in the future! Kind Regards Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing