We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the perfect location”

Review of The Sail Loft

Spacious yet cosy living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Entrance with beach paraphernalia for your use - wetroom is through the door on the left
Bedroom 1 - First Floor
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - ground floor
Bathroom
Bath with shower
Equipped with everything you need for a great holiday
Dining for 6
Ground Floor
A place for little people to sit!
Plenty of comfy seating for six
A cosy place to spend Christmas
Wetroom detail
Bedroom 2 - first floor
X marks the spot - ideally located close to the beautiful blue flag beaches
Porthmeor Beach (less than 5 minute walk from the cottage) on a sunny September morning
Our own private parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ray B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the perfect location”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious but cosy apartment located two minutes walk from everything, beach shops pub and restaurants. We traveled the first week of October as all the beaches are dog friendly from October 1st. For dog lovers its like Crufts by the sea, The apartment was fantastic with everything you could need and with decent wifi. full bathroom and downstairs shower/toilet so no queuing for a shower in the morning. If you are planning a holiday in St Ives you will not find a more perfectly located lovely apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful home from home”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This property has everything you will need for a wonderful holiday in the beautiful seaside town of St Ives. As well as all the usual crockery, cutlery, linen etc there are books, toys, games, cleaning products, toiletries and beach equipment.It is clean and comfortable with lots of lovely quirky additions, The cottage is centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the harbour and Porthgwidden beach. There are a number of steps into the property so it may not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan living space. Ideal for larger groups.
Liked least: We loved everything!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful memories made at the Sail Loft, St Ives”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our holiday in St Ives. We booked the Sail Loft as a surprise for my dad's 60th Birthday.
It did not let us down. It is a cosy well maintained cottage with great decor throughout. The cottage is fully equipped with all you could need on a self catering break. The beds although a tad on the small size were comfortable with lovely white crisp linen.
The bathroom large with a lovely powerful shower. The only suggestion would be an anti slip mat in the shower as we had a few close calls.
The open plan lounge/kitchen is well laid out and many a happy evening was spent round the large kitchen table playing board games and eating good food (board games courtesy of the sail loft).
The location is excellent with the harbour beach only a few minutes walk away and Porthgwidden beach just a few minutes more.
Olives Cafe which is located next to the cottage looked lovely although we never ate in there.
The 'tea rooms' located on the harbour does the best cream teas and 'blas' burger bar comes highly recommended.

This is a wonderful cottage set in the beautiful town of St Ives. I am certain that anyone visiting would not be disappointed.

The owner of the sail loft is very accommodating and even arranged for baby equipment to be delivered to the cottage, taking the hassle away from me (service chargeable locally).

If you do decide to visit the Sail Loft be sure to help them in the quest to source local sand from one of the many beaches in and around the area. We have left a bag of sand to add to the collection.

Thank you for the memories St Ives xxx

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The beds were small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehzoyzdcr
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect place to stay in St Ives. The location was perfect, close to the Harbour and steps away from the beaches and restaurants.

We really appreciated having the parking space as parking in St Ives looks to be pretty nightmarish.

The cottage is beautifully decorated and nothing at all was lacking. Having the living area in the semi basement was a welcome relief as it was cool down there and really very hot outside. This did make sleeping a bit difficult upstairs as it got hotter and hotter while we were there and we ended up fighting for the two downstairs beds. At night, the windows had to be kept shut to try and eliminate some of the loud seagull squawking as they were nesting on the roofs. However, we may just have been really lucky with the weather (and unlucky with seagull nesting time) and I am sure this probably isn't an issue most of the year round.

We would advise anyone coming to the cottage when it is over 23 degrees celsius to bring a couple of electric fans for the bedrooms.

The cottage itself is just perfect and I can't add anything to what other reviewers have said.

Book it; you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The springs in the mattresses in the downstairs room were too boingy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barneykea...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday at the sail loft (excellent)”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

we had a great holiday, location was excellent, central to the beaches and town, the cottage was comfortable and well equipped, would highly recommend

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing