We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stylish centrally located cottages n the heart...”

Review of The Sail Loft

Spacious yet cosy living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spacious yet cosy living area
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Entrance with beach paraphernalia for your use - wetroom is through the door on the left
Bedroom 1 - First Floor
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 - ground floor
Bathroom
Bath with shower
Equipped with everything you need for a great holiday
Dining for 6
Ground Floor
A place for little people to sit!
Plenty of comfy seating for six
A cosy place to spend Christmas
Wetroom detail
Bedroom 2 - first floor
X marks the spot - ideally located close to the beautiful blue flag beaches
Porthmeor Beach (less than 5 minute walk from the cottage) on a sunny September morning
Our own private parking space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bidford
1 review
“A stylish centrally located cottages n the heart of St Ives.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My family and I (plus our well behaved dog) had a frantastic week in The Sail Loft. The cottage is in a prime position, minutes from the beach, harbour and very usefully the island for Eva the dog. St Ives never disappoints and nor did this beautifully renovated cottage. Greta and Rich have done a wonderful job of up dating The Sail Loft, whilst staying true to the original building. Stylish rooms with practical, well appointed kitchen, contemporary furniture and quirky details which are delightful. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswoldl...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Accommodation in the Perfect Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Spacious and stylish with everything thought of.
Literally a stone's throw from the centre of St Ives and beaches, but in a quiet street of art galleries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith b
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival @ the sail loft and opening the porch door, there are grey tiled steps leading down to the front door with a wet room. On opening the front door we were greeted with a gem of a cottage, decorated and furnished in nuturel colours, with some nice touches. The owners left a welcoming bottle of wine and fresh flowers for our arrival, also awaiting our dog was a bowl with a bone shape biscuit, which was a very nice touch and a nice start to our family holiday. There are 3 bedrooms the first room is a twin which the owners will make into a double if required which is off from the lounge, which is opened planned leading into the dinning kitchen area which is very well equiped. Then upstairs are 2 further double rooms the master bedroom has opened beems which is a very nice feature. The bathroom has a shower & bath and also decorated to a very high standard. The owners have made a large framed sand bottle collection on the wall of the lounge, and invite guests to collect sand for them. There is a tin in the lounge with little bags in, my daughters enjoyed adding to their collection . My wife & I stayed @ the cottage with my two daughters & my older daughters boyfriend. During our stay we went to Padstow, Mawgan Porth where my wife & I first met. Their is a beautiful beach @ Mawgan Porth, and we highly recommened the pub there. My daughters enjoyed the Cornish pasty's in Padstow said they were nicer than Bolton pasty's. We went to Newquay,Penzance & Mousehole,Falmouth & Truro, we went to the world famous smugglers pub/restuarant in Penzance Admiral Benbow for our last night this is our third visit here and we highly recommened a visit its in the treasure island book, it's decorated like a ship inside and even have the main restuarant as the captains cabin,you just have to see it for your self. We plan on returning to the sail loft in jan 2014, as my wife is originally from Cornwall and has family there, the cottage is in central location with easy access to the A30, trains and local bus service. The sloop is the only pub in St Ives you can take your dog in, if you have never been to St Ives before then watch out for the seagulls who will steal your ice cream given the chance so guard your food walking along the harbour, as some of them have tattoo's lol.
We all enjoyed our stay at the sail loft so much that I could write & write about the cottage but you know what you need to see it for your selfs and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely feel to the cottage
Liked least: the weather was a bit hit & miss
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julienige...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“50th birthday week”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for my 50th birthday with wife children and grandchildren and archie my choc lab we loved sail loft and we will be back soon ideal for couples , familys perfect location lovely and clean home from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all off it
Liked least: must admit there was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing