We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home from home, with wonderful views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Avoca Cottage

Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
New upstairs lounge in 2015 Walking distance to the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Situated above Porthmeor Beach and the Tate Gallery with views of the Island
New upstairs lounge in 2015
Walking distance to the Beach
New kitchen diner in 2015
Main bedroom with garden view
room for 3 kids (with the z bed, not shown)
En-suite bedroom
two bathrooms
Ample space to seat 6 for dinner.
well-appointed kitchen
All electrical appliances
Single Bedroom (off upstairs lounge)
A spectacular balcony view for spring 2015
Feel on top of the world in our upstairs lounge with panoramic views of the ocean
Short walk to the Tate Modern
Great shopping and arts and crafts.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Courtney...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home from home, with wonderful views.”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were all very much excited for this holiday, in the pictures it looked amazing but when we actually got there it was much more so! Although, there should really be pictures of the lovely big back garden as it is a lovely sight!
Finding the house was not difficult in the slightest, although the driveway leading up the house is a bit bumpy and not great if you have a low car as it is a gravel pathway and was scraping a bit on the bottom of the car. Parking was fine though, lots of space!
It is situated in a nice neighbourhood, and on top of a hill. It is very close to the harbour, at the bottom of the hill which had lots of shops and beautiful places to eat! I would recommend The Mex. The house is about a 2 minute walk away from a premier if we needed anything.
There were so many things to do we rarely stayed in, plus the weather was nice for us!
As we entered the house for the first time it was lovely and warm, everything was clean and it smelt nice. All cutlery was nice and lucky dishwasher so we didn't have to clean up!!
Our favourite thing about the holiday house is definitely the upstairs living room where we spent most of our evenings playing board games and enjoying the wonderful view from the balcony. The sofas were extremely comfortable and I was considering sleeping on them most nights!!
If I had to complain about anything, it would be that in the en suite bathroom we could not get the shower to run hot water, also because there is no radiator in there it was extremely cold, especially compared to the rest of the house.
We will absolutely be coming again! Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Upstairs living room!
Liked least: No hot water in en suite.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico646
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in St Ives”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed our 4 night break at Avoca cottage, it is in a good position and quite near the centre of town, easy parking and has all the facilities you need, check out the open balcony window upstairs for awesome night sky star watching, very clean and comfortable with a great back garden! Contacted the owner for local info and was very helpful. St Ives was excellent too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Yes, the skywalk app comes into its own on clear autumn nights at the tip of Cornwall. So happy you had a nice time, October is one of the best times to visit St Ives.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyHoug...
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious cottage with views!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely cottage with plenty of room for everyone, and good facilities.
Garden was also a good size, and the town and beaches, were easily accessible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living room upstairs with fab views of sea and harbour especially at night
Liked least: no stair gates
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lynne b
retford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful 4 bedroom cottage with sea views”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely cottage at the top of the hill above the Tate modern.

Avocado has a new lounge upstairs with views out over the bay, a nice flat garden, parking for 1 car, 4 bedrooms, a kitchen-diner and utility.

The stairs were too narrow for our mobile stair gate and there isn't one available so be aware if you have a toddler, also the cot needed a little DIY before our daughter could use it- great that we all had separate rooms though!

The owner had forgotten that we were arriving on the Friday so the cleaners didn't arrive until the Saturday but otherwise we were very happy with the cottage and St Ives is lovely

Be aware that the garages at the end of the road are in use and to avoid blocking them ( tricky with 2 cars) and that many instructions such as bin collection times, how to use the cooker etc are written on walls or windows rather than in one central place, all of the white goods were very efficient though- wish my own washing machine was as good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thanks for your feedback: I always do a Sat -Sat changeover but I had not set my dats far enough in advance. I had not forgotten you were arriving early by special arrangement, but my cleaner had! Apologies!
I am down shortly so will investigate the stair gate option top and bottom are different sizes so I will see if I can source a suitable adjustable one. There is a garage should allow an extra parking space. Keys inside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing