We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect special first holiday with our baby”
Courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Courtyard garden
View west from the house
Kitchen - new in Spring 2014
Utility with sink, washing machine and tumble dryer
Shower
Misty day, view from the front deck up to Godrevy Light.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
musician1...
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect special first holiday with our baby”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have had the best week staying at Beach Break. We are a married couple with an 11 month baby and my parents also joined us.

We are from Merseyside so we broke the long drive up by staying over in Bristol on the way down (which I would definitely recommend doing if you have a baby). When we finally arrived at Beach Break, we were not disappointed. Wonderful views of the ocean from the front and master bedroom. The sun was shining and we knew it would be a wonderful week.

The house was immaculate and had everything we needed. Special touches like milk in the fridge, Cornish biscuits and the travel cot already set up were very much welcomed. We kept the travel cot in the third bedroom (bunk beds) so our baby had his own room. Our priorities were two car parking (technically you could fit three cars in the space available) and two bathrooms. Few properties seemed to exist in St Ives with this criteria so Beach Break is a gem for this alone!

There was plenty of wardrobe space (and hangers!) in each bedroom and the bathrooms were modern, one with a shower and the other a bath. Perhaps a shower within the bath would be a suggestion for improvement but regardless, we were pleased to have the option of the bath if only for our baby.

The kitchen is also modern with bonus facilities such as the dishwasher. We made full use of the utility room with a washer and dryer; no washing when we returned home, brilliant!

The back yard is spacious too with beach equipment such as wind breaks and a body board in the shed.

The hill down to the beach is steep. My parents are fit but in their late 60's and my Mum found it tiring and had to take it slowly. I had a workout pushing the pram up every evening! It didn't bother me at all though; it's less than a 5 minute climb so it was over quickly and it didn't seem too bad after a few afternoon beverages! No pain, no gain for a view like that.

We extended our stay by one day as we were having such a perfect holiday so we left on the Saturday rather than the Friday (as the properly was available the following week). The owner Sharon was extremely helpful, after a quick phone call, it was all sorted and we paid an extra night pro rata. We would have stayed even longer had it not been for work commitments.

Eating out, I recommend The Black Rock (amazing steak!) and The Little Mermaid.

This holiday completely exceeded my expectations. I haven't had a holiday in this country since I was a child (I'm 33 now) and it was my husband who didn't want to travel abroad with a baby so St Ives was suggested. It was a perfect first family holiday and Beach Break is a beautiful properly in an ideal location. I would highly recommend this property to family, friends and colleagues and I am sure we will return when the opportunity arrises.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front view
Liked least: Walk up the hill
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieNutm...
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just got back from a fabulous 3 days in Cornwall staying at Beach Break House. It was a last minute booking and the owner couldn't have been more helpful. The location is great - less than 100 yards from the beach. OK so the hill from the beach to the house is a bit steep but even laden down with surf boards and beach bags it only takes a few minutes. The house is also a few minutes walk to St Ives town centre which itself is pretty with loads of shops and restaurants. The beach (Porthmeor) is fab - huge stretch of sand with great waves for surfing and rocks for rockpooling and snorkelling. The parking at the house is really easy. The house itself is lovely - beautifully decorated (all whitewashed walls and beach pictures), very well equipped (it even has little Tupperware pots for you to use when doing sandwiches). There is some milk, coffee, tea and biscuits for you on arrival, a big fridge with freezer compartment, a washing machine and tumble dryer, TV, iPod dock, WiFi. Upstairs the 2 main rooms are spacious, the bunks room less so but it still has loads of storage space to unpack. The bathrooms are great - one has a bath, one has a shower, both have loos. Outside the courtyard garden is great for a barbecue and the garden shed has spare surf boards, buckets and spades and wind breaks. Unfortunately I had to come home early to go to work but I left my partner and our 9 year old daughter to stay a couple more days which again was a last minute arrangement and again arranged with no fuss. The visitors' book was full of praise for the house and I'm not surprised. I would highly recommend the house to anyone looking for a great place to stay in St Ives, in particular those with children above toddler age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_and_J...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in almost every way”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of six (all adults) stayed at Beach Break this week. The booking process was straightforward and the owner, Sharon, was very accommodating with a couple of special requests. When we arrived the house was absolutely spotless and we were all a bit in awe of the quality of the interior. The views from the decked front garden down to Porthmeor beach and across the sea are breathtaking - as you can probably see though it's positioned just off a very steep hill up from the seafront. We were never interrupted once during our stay and had a really relaxing and enjoyable break here. I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone, and don't let the elevated position put you off unless you really are walking impaired... It's only about 150m and there's a handrail all the way up and a couple of benches to stop off at to admire the views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyTrave...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house in fantastic location”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Beach Break is perfectly positioned a stone's throw from Porthmeor Beach - with its fantastic beach restaurant - and a short walk in to St Ives. The house was spotless and very comfortable. It has a lovely garden with a beautiful sun trap at the end. Lovely views from the front of the house, and a great little news agent and general store about two minutes walk from the gate at the end of the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: We could not access the wi-fi unfortunately!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;