We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Retreat”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently enjoyed a long weekend with the family at the Garrack. It is a somewhat hidden gem overlooking the sea on the outskirts of St. Ives. The best part of our stay was the friendly attitude of the owners and staff who made our vacation more pleasurable then in a standard hotel. The only mistake we made was to have one of our dinners in town, as that was a disappointment compared to the fine meals and homey atmosphere of the Garrack.

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view rooms that are one level below and offset from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SevenOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 471 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

This place has so much potential - a very attractive garden and the restuarant is lovely, serving a really good breakfast, but the rooms really let it down. For what I paid and what I saw on the website, I wasn't expecting my room to be as dated (and mix & mash) as it was. It was a bit depressing, actually. On the bright side, the bed was very comfortable so I'm grateful for that.

I booked for two nights but after one, I decided to head back to London. (With the weather about to take a turn for the worst, I couldn't face another night in that room.) The receptionist didn't ask why I was checking out early - or indeed how my stay was, in spite of paying well over £300 for two nights.

PROS
- good breakfast
- pleasant staff
- comfortable bed
- nice location
- sea views
- dog friendly (which I appreciated)

CONS
- very dated accomodation
- overpriced

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank London_UKHeather_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Garrack is a lovely hotel in a fantastic position overlooking the coast and St Ives.

We have just returned home, having enjoyed a weekend break there. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm.

The hotel serves amazing food - and we have previously experienced amongst the best in Cornwall, having stayed numerous times at the hotel of a certain celebrity chef in Padstow!

The staff could not have been more accommodating; nothing was too much trouble, so special mention to Sam and Joanne for their exemplary customer service and to the owners, Michael and Steven for their welcome and advice.

Ignore any ‘moaning minnies’ – if they don’t like character, let them stay in impersonal chain hotels.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return, indeed with look forward to doing so.

Brilliant!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandJean15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Garrack, which is in a superb setting on the outskirts of town set within its own grounds and has a nice relaxed atmosphere, also very friendly and helpful staff/owners.

We had a lovely room - good sized with a large bed and superb sea views. We could not fault the meals which were interesting and well-presented.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pajabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned from a visit to St. Ives and a three night stay at the Garrack. Wonderful service on reception when we arrived (unknowingly) a day late. They didn't bat an eyelid but gave us a large, very clean and comfortable room with amazing views over St.Ives. Food was fabulous with panoramic views from the restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. If you like to walk the hotel is next to the cliff walk to Zennor, and we were offered an OS map and walking poles to help us on our way. Lovely pool area with drinks and snacks available. Would definitely return - oh and mustn't forget the massage my husband and I both had which was so relaxing.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potterswheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.2 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
1.1 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
996 reviews
2.8 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $120 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Expedia APAC so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing