We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
334
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pilchard press porthmeor beach perfect hosts daily specials maple syrup eggs benedict central location b bs full english perfect place to stay perfect base attention to detail home from home each morning a wonderful stay fruit salad clotted cream
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Our Fourth visit, and greeted so warmly by our excellent hosts Carol & Mike. Perfectly appointed room with Ensuite cleaned and tidied daily. The breakfasts are different every day and all tastes and needs are catered for (me: decaf and GF when needed) with artisan breads and nothing skimped on.
Location wise it's perfect for us, tucked away in the Digey so no passing noise, total serenity. Yet literally a minute's walk to our favourite beach Porthmeor and a couple of minutes walk to the Harbour side.
Endless choice of restaurants that Mike and Carol can recommend depending on what you fancy and an amazing source of local knowledge for trips right across Cornwall. Which is why we have returned so many times.
No sea view from the room, which ordinarily for me is an absolute MUST, however our days are so packed that we literally spend every waking minute out and about, or meandering around. The Parking is an optional extra and again just half a minute away.
The Keep is a very special place to stay, and I'm looking forward to returning again and again, so please don't tell everyone about this jewel in the St.Ives crown, otherwise everyone will want to stay!!!

Room Tip: Pilchard Press is a great room. And definitely book the parking, it saves so much hassle!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoTheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mou5e, Owner at The Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

It was lovely having you to stay again, Jo, and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always an added pleasure when our guests decide to return to The Keep!
Have a good summer, and thanks again for giving us such positive feedback.
Best wishes
Carol and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We have just returned from a relaxing stay at the Keep. Mike and Carol are fantastic hosts and the Pilchard Press room is lovely.As other reviewers have said - this is a perfect location which is minutes away from the beaches, shopping and restaurants, but so peaceful once you are inside.
Carol is a fantastic cook and the breakfast specials each day are really lovely - we apologised for being slightly fussy guests but nothing was too much trouble.
Great walks from St Ives to Hayle beach/ Hells Mouth and also to Zennor (the Tinners Arms is a must!) Got the bus to St Michaels Mount and then the walk from there to Mousehole is lovely and easy terrain.
Visited the Hidden Kitchen for dinner which was great but you need to book in advance
The tiny Pilchard Press is also worth a visit - particularly if you like real ale.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WonderingMinstrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mou5e, Owner at The Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you SO much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both, and we enjoyed our chats over the breakfast table. We also loved the fact that you were so pleased with your Art and Jewellery purchases.
Have a good summer, and we do hope you'll
visit us again one day.
Best wishes, Carol and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

What wonderful stay we've had , in the perfect location , 30 seconds for the beach 2 minutes walk from the town centre , harbour and restaurants, our hosts Mike and Carol will make you feel so welcome , they are such lovely people, the breakfast is delicious and a perfect start to the day , all in all a wonderful place to stay , highly recommended .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 21thom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mou5e, Owner at The Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Keep. Being so close to all the amenities of St Ives adds to our own enjoyment of living in the town, and it's always good to know our guests like that too. Thank you once again for your positive feedback.
Our very best wishes, Carol and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

This is a fabulously chic little gem hidden away from the hustle and bustle of St. Ives but within a few minutes walk of restaurants and beaches. Carol's restaurant recommendations before we arrived were extremely helpful, and we had some excellent food whilst we were there. The Keep is beautifully presented with a bedroom, bathroom and separate lounge which made it feel as though we were staying in a suite. Carol and Mike made us feel so welcome and we loved our daily (sometimes twice daily!) chats with them. The breakfasts were superb, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, toast and preserves and not once did we go for the full English as Carol's daily specials were too hard to resist!! The Spicy Sydney eggs were superb and our personal favourite, but the French toast with berries, maple sauce and clotted cream were equally good! Carol and Mike were excellent hosts and by the end of our 3 nights with them, felt more like new friends. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we're next in St. Ives, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Netty2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mou5e, Owner at The Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Jeanette, thanks very much indeed for your lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our recommendations for restaurants - I doubt we will ever forget your adventures during the course of one particular evening!
We hope to see you again, and thank you for being the perfect guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful trip to St Ives. The Keep is the perfect place to stay. Such a great location and parking available too. The room decor is lovely and a really comfortable bed. The breakfast is just amazing. Full English is great but the specials are so good! It was so nice to see Mike and Carol again who looked after us so well. This is our fourth trip and we just can't wait to go back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaireCCS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mou5e, Owner at The Keep, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Claire, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, and such a positive one too. We always enjoy your visits, and of course we look forward to seeing you again. Have a lovely summer! Warm wishes, Carol and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews