We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good place to stay in Port Isaac”
Sail Loft Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sail Loft Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Sail Loft Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam E
Medway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location but a very small property”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

You can't fault the location of the sail loft, it's just yards from the harbour in a great village and with an allocated parking space on site it's good value for money for Port Isaac. However, for us it was just too small.

The living/dining/kitchen room is a fair size, well equipped and has great views over the village but despite being advertised as a one bedroomed property the small double bedroom is actually open plan up a very tight spiral staircase from the living room. (The stairs make getting a medium sized suitcase up to the bedroom a bit of an initative test but it's doable.) If you and your travel companion keep similar hours then the open plan set-up won't be a problem but I quite often go to bed and get up earlier than my husband these days which means one of you is creeping about trying not to wake the other one up with the tv/radio or kettle.

The bedroom and bathroom are in a loft space which is very tight, you can't stand one side of the bed (we're both under 6ft) and the shower over the bath is so low my husband could only just stand upright to wash. The slightly tired bathroom is accessed via a sliding door from the bedroom - a clever use of space but again this makes 'using the facilities' tricky during the night.

We found the agent Natural Retreats good to work with and arrived to find a lovely welcome pack which meant we had enough supplies to keep us going for our first few hours in the flat. As another reviewer mentioned having to drive 15 mins to collect and drop off keys is a bit of a pain but not a deal breaker.

Don't let thIs review put you off - it's a good value property in a cracking location and a cosy retreat if you love quirky but the layout and size of the upstairs just didn't work for us and we wouldn't have booked it if we'd realised what we'd be getting. In fairness it's probably better suited honeymooners than a couple of oldlyweds like us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penderpet...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Port Isaac”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here! These are the plus points for the Sail Loft. It is, as you say, very conveniently located in Port Isaac, aka Port Wenn. The cottage is rightly described as 'cosy,' i.e. small, but it it well furnished and equipped and has the advantage of car parking, which is a real bonus in Port Isaac. Access to coast walks is great. Port Isaac to Port Quin, via the coast path is demanding, but well worth the effort the scenery is superb. there is, a seasonal refreshment van in Port Quin. The return route, overland, is much easier! Tintagel is nearby, as is St Agnes, Chapel Porth, and the remains of the old tin mines. We had a great walk around Pentire Head today, which was stunning.

In our view, the only problem with Sail Loft is logistical. You have to pick up the key in Trebetherick, which is a 20 minute drive from Port Isaac. You also have to return the keys to Trebetherick, which means an extra 40 minute detour, there and then back towards your destination, which in our case is Manchester, a long drive without having to take the key back. Is there any way around this?

The only other problem was waste disposal. It was clear that the rubbish had to be placed in grey bags, but there was only one furnished for our use. However, I asked for another, and this was delivered today. (Wednesday). This was important, because the dustbin men only pick up bags labelled with their company logo. In talking to the bin men, they seemed to suggest that black bags were picked up on one day, and grey bags the next.(Another bin for the Manor House property was not emptied whilst we were staying at Sail Loft, possibly because the rubbish was in a black bag?) There is also conflicting information as to where the waste should be put. One leaflet suggested the edge of the property, Middle Street, the other Church Street.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondma...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We love the sail loft.”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is our second stay at the property, We loved our last holiday at the sail loft so much we couldn't wait to return. It's the perfect accomadasion in the beautiful village of Port Isaac.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss_Moll...
Prahran, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy bright townhouse in the heart of Pt Isaac”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Quaint 2 storey house for 2. Quite small but had everything to make it very comfortable and very clean. Parking was a real bonus in a town like this where you really can't park on the very narrow streets. We were walking distance to everything the town had to offer, including a wonderful fish market with too much to choose from. A lot of restaurants and cafes but it pays to read up on the reviews. Booking and refunds were a breeze. We had lovely views from upstairs over the town. Many nearby villages to visit that were lovely and all such tidy towns with flowers everywhere. We had great weather so that probably coloured our view of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable place in a great spot
Liked least: Probably navigating the spiral staircase while trying to carry something as well
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing