We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”

Review of Harbour Loft

Harbour loft - as seen on Doc Martin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour loft - as seen on Doc Martin
View from the living room Harbour loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
Harbour loft - as seen on Doc Martin
View from the living room
Harbour loft
Living room
Kitchen/dining area
Living room
Lounge area
View from window
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Snug room
Hallway
Port Isaac harbour
Exterior of property and the quayside
Port isaac village and harbour
View of Doc Martin's surgery taken from kitchen
Local coastline
Port Isaac harbour and coast
Port Isaac harbour
Port Isaac village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
craftydan...
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The most quaint little property in the most gorgeous picturesque spot.. Very cosy and comfortable...it was like stepping back in time but with all the modern conveniences we are used to. Due to personal reasons our trip was cut short but on our return home we immediately booked again to visit this amazing cove and the surrounding area. We are very much looking forward to our return trip for long walks along this outstanding coastline followed by a delicious meal in one of the many local restaurants and a cosy evening looking out over the Port.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaint ambiance and location of the property
Liked least: Nothing really to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for your time to leave a review and I am glad that you enjoyed this quaint property. The property really does have a picturesque view which it looks like you enjoyed. We are also looking forward to your return and I’m glad your dates are already secured. Please feel free to enter our photo competition if you can pick just one. Now the countdown to your next visit starts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa N
Chipping Campden, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“annual well deserved holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

absolutely perfect setting and lovely apartment, only major downside was the noise from the restaurant, the main bedroom is above the kitchen and everything can be heard including conversations from 6.50 am one morning until 11.45pm one night. The smell of cooking was unbearable one morning and we had to vacate the property for the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you loved the cottage and its setting however I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the restaurant below. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will certainly pass your comments on to the property owner who I know is in contact with Nathan Outlaw of Outlaw's Fish Kitchen. The chef is very keen to work closely with the local community and I’m sure both he and the owner of Harbour Loft will endeavour to take reasonable steps to put the matter right. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope that we can welcome you back to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allh0ckey
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location at a price”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stumbled across Harbour Loft and booked on a whim after my wife and I couldn't decide on where to go for our holiday. The Loft itself is well decorated and ideal for 2 people like the other reviews our only gripe was with the noise from the restaurant below the extractor meant that in the evening the apartment sounded as if you were on an aircraft. But the big plus was the location, watching the people and the fishermen go about their business and near to the restaurants and pub which we found to be very good. On the whole the positives outweigh the negatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: people watching from the living room/kitchen
Liked least: extractor noise, eerywhere is uphill!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you loved Harbour Loft’s location however I am sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbance; all customer feedback is invaluable to us and the owner. The restaurant beneath the holiday property was taken over by the chef Nathan Outlaw last year and the owner of Harbour Loft has met with him to discuss their kitchen extraction system; I believe this has undergone a complete service and it has been agreed that all fans will be switched off by 10.30pm. The owner is investigating ways of better soundproofing between the apartment and the restaurant below and please rest assured that we will be monitoring all future feedback. We understand that holidays are very important to clients and we endeavour to be as accurate as we can with our descriptions. We have a wide variety of properties and locations and we would be happy to discuss your requirements to help you choose the right property in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that we can welcome you back to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Harbour Loft website gives incorrect unloading information which led to parking ticket being issued.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Holidaymakers beware! I was issued with a parking ticket whilst unloading my suitcases and baggage on the harbour area in front of Harbour Loft at the start of my holiday. The website information for this apartment clearly states that unloading is permitted but, sadly, this is not the case. It all happened whilst I was struggling up the apartment stairs with holiday paraphernalia and by the time I'd reached the car for the second load (a matter of minutes), a traffic warden had appeared and issued a ticket. He told me that the unloading information on the the owner's/holiday letting website is incorrect. I have informed Cornish Traditional Cottages and the owner in the hope that they might liaise with the relevant Cornish authority to come to some arrangement whereby unloading would be permitted for future users of Harbour Loft but to no avail and it remains to be seen whether the website information will be corrected for future users. It ruined what promised to be an enjoyable stay in Port Isaac and I will not be returning.

Liked least: No facility for unloading/loading the car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you for the review following your stay at Harbour Loft in Port Isaac in May. Both the owner and ourselves were very sorry to learn of the parking ticket you received on your return visit this year; we have certainly never been made aware of anyone receiving a ticket whilst unloading at the property. Harbour Loft is now in its third season of letting with Cornish Traditional Cottages and in that time we have not received feedback of a similar nature or the owner personally himself when he has stayed at the property with his family.
This unfortunate incident is something that neither the owner nor ourselves can control, and cannot be held responsible for Cornwall Councils parking enforcement. The description states that, “it is possible to briefly unload…” and of the 54 bookings to date since 2012 we have found that all visitors have enjoyed being in the heart of Port Isaac and have not experienced a problem when unloading.
Once again we are all sorry that on this rare occasion you received a parking ticket from Cornwall Councils parking enforcement. We would love to help you find the right property next time and our highly experienced team are on hand to discuss your holiday accommodation requirements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location can not be bettered
Liked least: The extraction system from the downstairs restaurant which seems to vent into the dressing area. The noise from the restaurant.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing