We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by lack of maintenance”
Review of Old School Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old School Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Let down by lack of maintenance”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Fab position with views across water but mattress terrible, lumpy and sagged in middle, my back was very sore the next day as a result. Walls need a clean or painting, and water pressure low. Room is large with sofa which was great. Overall this is a great place to stay, but could be much better, its not cheap at 150 pounds a night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    131
    48
    35
    15
See reviews for
53
254
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The only reason we stayed here was because we simply HAD to - this is THE place to stay if you want to admire the Doc's cottage and harbour all from a very familiar point. The beds were comfortable - the rooms were in need of some updating, looking a little shabby - but essentially we werent there for the room - just the view.

The breakfast staff were pleasant and helpful - the breakfast was just okay - and varied dramatically from one day to the next (like half the amount of cooked breakfast compared to another day). Uninspiring breakfast room - but once again, we were here for the views. The breakfast is also only served between 8.30 and 9.30 which forces you to sit around and wait before starting your day as you would wish..walking etc. There was also no other option for buying breakfast in the village, so you were forced to wait until 8.30 (which is fairly late for us)

There is no mobile coverage and on returning home, discovered that the message my husband had left for me didnt ever reach me (and we stayed for three nights, so I found that fairly poor).
I would stay here again - but only for the views - quite expensive considering value for money ..but oh the views!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I visited Port Isaac with my husband, his parents and my parents for three days. We were given the Chemistry room, the History room, and the French room. All were lovely and clean. Small, but very cosy. No complaints from any of us.

The bathroom in our room was great, but lacked a shower, but we didn't mind starting each day with a leisurely bubble bath, it made quite a nice change, actually!

The breakfasts each day were HUGE and really good quality. My husband and I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, but our parents did and said the food was very good.

The location was perfect - only a 50 metre stroll to shops, a couple of good pubs and restaurants.

Port Isaac is so picturesque - like something from a story book. Just gorgeous. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the port-side for a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EQuintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just got back from our 8th trip to the Old Schoolhouse. Stayed in Mathmatics the first night, a lovely room with a separate room for our son (pleasing him no end!) second night moved to Latin, in my eyes best room in hotel, smaller than some of the other rooms (mainly because we had an extra bed in there) but the most amazing views over the harbour with a fantastic claw footed bath! We were lucky with the weather and both nights sat outside to eat our meals. Sam, the hotel manager made our stay! Nothing was to much trouble and she let us adapt the menu to suit our needs. She is an asset to the hotel!
My husband spent many childhood holidays in Port Isaac and although now known for being the home of Doc Martin is still as picturesque as ever and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want an amazing view and a wonderful bath choose Latin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigdebjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Navigating a car here can be stressful (very narrow streets) and limited parking (might be easier to have parked in the nearby council car park... but the experience of driving around the local streets is something we will never forget!) but for a die hard Doc Martin fan it was lots of fun and well worth the effort and $$. The 'History' room was small and taking a shower was near impossible (it is located under the staircase and you had to squat or take a bath) but from the small window overlooked the Port and the lush hillside opposite. Stunning! The staff were lovely though a little limited/overworked at times. The breakfast was lovely (mixture of buffet and cooked hot meal to order). Yes, the whole town is very touristy but it still felt lived in and very much loved. We would highly recommend a holiday here... get out and enjoy a lovely walk around the hills, nearby port and don't miss a drive to Tintagel Castle!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a bigger room with a guaranteed view of the Harbour and surrounding coa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.4 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.1 km away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.2 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.9 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
10.0 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Hotel

Property: Old School Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price range (per night): $97 - $260
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Hotel in Port Isaac offers various accommodation from singles to family rooms, all en-suite. The hotel provides free wireless internet access and offers hotel residents free onsite car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old School
Old School Port Isaac
Old School Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing