We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old School Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 240*
USD 228*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
USD 200*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Stargazy Inn(Port Isaac)
USD 192*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
USD 216*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
USD 140*
USD 136*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
USD 160*
USD 156*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 260*
USD 253*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wadebridge(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
USD 67*
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
USD 127*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
206
143
50
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
143
50
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish roomart roomdoc martinmusic roomcar parkquirky hotelhouse hotelfish piean evening mealfishing villagefresh seafoodtv showlarge roomfantastic locationoverlooking the harbourboth nightsfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The only reason we stayed here was because we simply HAD to - this is THE place to stay if you want to admire the Doc's cottage and harbour all from a very familiar point. The beds were comfortable - the rooms were in need of some updating, looking a little shabby - but essentially we werent there for the room - just the view.

The breakfast staff were pleasant and helpful - the breakfast was just okay - and varied dramatically from one day to the next (like half the amount of cooked breakfast compared to another day). Uninspiring breakfast room - but once again, we were here for the views. The breakfast is also only served between 8.30 and 9.30 which forces you to sit around and wait before starting your day as you would wish..walking etc. There was also no other option for buying breakfast in the village, so you were forced to wait until 8.30 (which is fairly late for us)

There is no mobile coverage and on returning home, discovered that the message my husband had left for me didnt ever reach me (and we stayed for three nights, so I found that fairly poor).
I would stay here again - but only for the views - quite expensive considering value for money ..but oh the views!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I visited Port Isaac with my husband, his parents and my parents for three days. We were given the Chemistry room, the History room, and the French room. All were lovely and clean. Small, but very cosy. No complaints from any of us.

The bathroom in our room was great, but lacked a shower, but we didn't mind starting each day with a leisurely bubble bath, it made quite a nice change, actually!

The breakfasts each day were HUGE and really good quality. My husband and I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, but our parents did and said the food was very good.

The location was perfect - only a 50 metre stroll to shops, a couple of good pubs and restaurants.

Port Isaac is so picturesque - like something from a story book. Just gorgeous. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the port-side for a lovely view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EQuintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just got back from our 8th trip to the Old Schoolhouse. Stayed in Mathmatics the first night, a lovely room with a separate room for our son (pleasing him no end!) second night moved to Latin, in my eyes best room in hotel, smaller than some of the other rooms (mainly because we had an extra bed in there) but the most amazing views over the harbour with a fantastic claw footed bath! We were lucky with the weather and both nights sat outside to eat our meals. Sam, the hotel manager made our stay! Nothing was to much trouble and she let us adapt the menu to suit our needs. She is an asset to the hotel!
My husband spent many childhood holidays in Port Isaac and although now known for being the home of Doc Martin is still as picturesque as ever and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you want an amazing view and a wonderful bath choose Latin.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigdebjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Navigating a car here can be stressful (very narrow streets) and limited parking (might be easier to have parked in the nearby council car park... but the experience of driving around the local streets is something we will never forget!) but for a die hard Doc Martin fan it was lots of fun and well worth the effort and $$. The 'History' room was small and taking a shower was near impossible (it is located under the staircase and you had to squat or take a bath) but from the small window overlooked the Port and the lush hillside opposite. Stunning! The staff were lovely though a little limited/overworked at times. The breakfast was lovely (mixture of buffet and cooked hot meal to order). Yes, the whole town is very touristy but it still felt lived in and very much loved. We would highly recommend a holiday here... get out and enjoy a lovely walk around the hills, nearby port and don't miss a drive to Tintagel Castle!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a bigger room with a guaranteed view of the Harbour and surrounding coastline.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just got home from a stay at this wonderful hotel. The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! We stayed in the English room amazing views and to be able to listen to the sound of the sea at night ......priceless. All the staff were so very kind and helpful. Food very good and Sam the waitress was more than helpful with my dietry needs. Would advise anyone visiting this delightful village to stay at the old school house. Will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Check them out on line
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews