We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back again and loving it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lodge Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge Front
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lodge Front
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
En-suite to main bedroom
2nd Bedroom
3rd Bedroom
Bathroom
Talland Bay
Polperro
Polperro Harbour
Lansallos Bay
Lantic Bay
Looe Beach
Looe Harbour
Looe Island
Coastal Path
Du Maurier House Bodinnick
Fowey
Whitsand Bay
Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kimberley...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back again and loving it!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I wanted a short relaxing break before I went into hospital. Somewhere quiet and somewhere that I knew and could trust. So August Hill Lodge seemed like the perfect place as I had already stayed there last year with a group of friends. This time I went with my Partner and Son. Love this place and love yet again the small personal details that the owners provided. Cream tea on arrival and the much appreciated bottle of wine but this time some lovely spring flowers as well. As before cannot fault the cleanliness of the lodge. Plenty to do for my Son as the holiday park had a pool and a snooker table which he loved and me well I was just glad to have a rest and admire the beautiful scenery. Don't often go back to a place unless it has something special and this place does.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb9257
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended,Wonderful location”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Really helpful directions to the lodge which is located in a quiet area of only 7 lodges. We had a lovely warm welcome by the owner who kindly greeted us with cream teas, wine and flowers, a lovely surprise. The lodge itself was lovely and clean ,It had everything we needed and was a real home from home . The coastal path was a short walk away which led to the pretty village of Polperro. The other direction is a pleasant walk to Talland bay and onto Looe .A perfect lodge in an equally perfect location. We will definitely be returning next year .Highly recommended .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimberley...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Find”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my birthday treat so I wanted to do and go somewhere special. My friends suggested Cornwall and as they knew this area suggested that we stay in or around Polperro. After looking on Holiday Lettings we decided to book August Hill so contacted the owner direct to make our booking. Such a helpful man John, even gave us detailed directions ( Women drivers eh!)
We arrived on time (thanks to John's directions no doubt) and was met by a lovely lady called Sandra. she showed us round the lodge and mentioned some places that we may like to visit etc. The service did not stop there, Sandra also provided a cream tea and a very much appreciated bottle of wine (well it was my birthday!)
All in all we all had a wonderful time made extra special by the service and the lodge which was spotless and well equipped for what we wanted.
We were all so pleased with our stay that I decided that I would leave a review on Trip Advisor. Loved this place and will definitely be back, especially for the scones and wine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the scones and wine lovely personal touch
Liked least: Leaving to come home to work
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The lodge was privately rented through the owner and therefore when things went wrong we had no comeback; this has been the main lesson learnt from this disaster. When we went to bed on the first night, it became clear that there was an overpowering smell of urine in the main bedroom. It became worse in the night to the extent that the room was not habitable. The smell seemed to be ingrained in the fabric of the room, either in the mattress or in the floor. When the landlady came the next morning to replace a broken kettle (which hadn't been checked prior to our arrival), she admitted that there had been a problem with the drains. My partner was transferred over the phone to explain the problem to her husband, who ranted and yelled at him when we asked for a refund for the remainder of the holiday. He refused us a refund and we are now out of pocket. Don't go to this property because the cause of the stench will not be fixed overnight; the owner was in denial that there was a problem and it seems that he is in breach of his agreement as all bookings are supposed to be made through the lodge park management company. If we had gone through the company, they would have arranged alternative accommodation, my partner would not have been verbally abused and we would have enjoyed a stress free holiday.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Unfortunately this review is the result of a dispute where the guests made numerous false complaints and accusations. As a result of these complaints we had the lodge immediately independently inspected. The result of that inspection was that all of the complaints were false with the lodge rated 5* and in perfect condition with no smells whatsoever. The key holder was threatened that if she didn't give an immediate refund that terrible reviews would be left on Trip Advisor and Holiday Lettings to ruin our reputation - as can be seen, this they are attempting to do. A full record of the false complaints and subsequent 5* inspection is available. This is the first negative review we have ever had and we would advise any potential guests to read all other reviews and guest comments further down in this advert. The guest further compound their false complaints with another falsehood when stating 'the owner... is in breach of his agreement as all bookings are supposed to be made through the lodge park management company... '. This is yet another total falsehood and an attempt to besmirch not only the lodge but also the honesty and integrity of the owner.
We are still at a loss as to why these potential guests have behaved like this, but guess that this happens occasionally and is one of the hazards in letting out holiday accommodation. In the meantime, as a result of this factually incorrect review and falsely accusing the owner of acting illegally by being in breach of his agreement in taking direct bookings, we have been left with no alternative but to place these and details of the false complaints and subsequent independent 5* inspection in the hands of our solicitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for a family”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent lodge situated in a great location. A lovely cream tea welcome from the owner made the 6 hour drive worthwhile. Would definitely return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing