We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property
Lodge Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge Front
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lodge Front
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
En-suite to main bedroom
2nd Bedroom
3rd Bedroom
Bathroom
Talland Bay
Polperro
Polperro Harbour
Lansallos Bay
Lantic Bay
Looe Beach
Looe Harbour
Looe Island
Coastal Path
Du Maurier House Bodinnick
Fowey
Whitsand Bay
Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Justvisit...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at August Hill whilst visiting Cornwall to attend a family wedding. This place is kept very clean and the accomodation is great and of a high quality. The best part was everything was provided, even down to the hand soap for each sink and even the bin liners.We were also met with a Cornish Cream Tea and a bottle of wine to start our extended weekend off. August Hill is situated in a quiet area of the Kiligarth Holiday complex and so has the use of the complex's facilities as well. We only used the take away and the shop but both were okay for what we needed. Thank you to the owners all their little extra touches, making our stay memorable. Would we visit again? Yes we would.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything being provided
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spikeg33
South East
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations - perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lodge for a half term trip to Cornwall with our two teenagers (14 & 16). From booking with John and his efficient correspondence we were confident of our choice. Upon arrival we were met by Sandra and her daughter. She showed us around the lodge and ensured we were happy with everything before she left. Sandra had left us a tray laid out with a wonderful cream tea which certainly didn't last long and was very welcome, delicious and a perfect start. The lodge, as stated by previous reviewers, is in a secluded part of the park and being last in the row of 7 lodges means that no one passes by your window at all. It was certainly very peaceful during our stay. Your car is parked in the car park bay just below the lodges. The kids loved unloading the bags into the trolley and pulling it around to the lodge as you can't park directly outside to unload/pack up although the system we adopted was great! We parked on the road and put everything on the wall by the lodge and then the kids used the trolley to bring it to the door! The lodge was centrally heated and this kept the lodge lovely and cosy for the whole week. There was plenty of space and equipped with everything you would need, even a pizza cutter and a cheese grater! I cooked several evenings and could honestly say the kitchen was great, decent sized saucepans etc. There were plenty of leaflets/books to look at and the teenagers enjoyed rummaging through the games cupboard. We walked into Polperro quite a few times which we enjoyed and eat a wonderful Sunday lunch at The Three Pilchards Inn. It was so delicious and very generous that we eat there on our last night. Thoroughly recommend the Sunday lunch, the plate was enormous! The food was excellent on both occasions and very reasonably priced. We also ate at the Crumplehorn Inn at the top of the village which again was very pleasant and full of history. We walked back in the dark on the coast path that evening which was quite entertaining - take a torch with you if you intend to walk back late! One between four people was not enough! Another day we walked to Talland Bay and then continued along the coast path into Looe. Beautiful scenery. If you buy a pasty in Looe make sure you go to Sarah's Pasty shop which is down near the Quay opposite HSBC bank I think (google the shop) - the best pasty's we've ever had and was recommended to us by locals! You must not miss her shop they are delicious. We stocked up with some food at the Co-op in Looe and then caught the bus back from Looe, it stops at the top of the road which leads down to the holiday park. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and would most definitely return if we were staying in this area. It is probably one of the best equipped self catering places we have stayed in. The washing machine came in handy as we got quite muddy on our walks! The beds were comfortable and the shower in the ensuite was great. If there was anything to niggle about, which is purely personal, I like my room to be really dark at night and the curtains let the light in really early - solved this the next night by hanging up blankets over the curtains to block out the light - yes niggly I know but it enabled us to sleep in longer!!! A wonderful holiday was had by all, the kids used the swimming pool once whilst I prepared dinner and occasionally they wandered down to the club house to get wi-fi and connect with the outside world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
John and Sandra have a super place here and you won't be disappointed if you choose to book up. Ideal base for exploring the area, we drove to Port Issac one day, didn't really take that long either. Can't wait to return at some point in the future and the teenagers loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, warm personal welcome, well equipped.
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, friendly welcome and the lodge itself having everything you needed for a carefree holiday
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome. Position & condition of lodge. Location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and warmth in a beautiful location
Liked least: Absence of Wi Fi Access in lodge but access was available on site.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing