We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hospitality and fantastic food”

The Three Pilchards
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Home Cooked, Fresh, Locally Sourced Food. Specialising in hearty meals and fresh fish dishes.
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

The staff and the food are undoubtedly the reason why we keep coming back to Polperro. The entertainment is top notch too. We cannot fault anything about the three pilchards and would 100% recommend visiting the village and go and say hi th Dan and Kat and the great staff. If you come during the summer the view from the roof top bar is amazing.

1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback - and brilliant to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the village.
Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Been coming to polperro for fifteen years now and always go to the three pilchards..... Was a great suprise to see a much improved feel to the whole place. table service was excellent and the food was top class and modern..... Keep doing what your doing........ d.moss somerset

1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback - and brilliant to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the village.
Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and myself visited Polperro again this year and thought we would try The Three Pilchards for the first time to have a drink and some lunch.
The pub looked beautiful from the outside and when entering was greeted. We decided to sit on the roof terrace and got talking to the owner who came across as being very passionate about his business.
I ordered a three cheese ploughman’s and my partner had sea food on skewers.
The whole experience was amazing. I have never tasted food as good as what I had that day.
We obviously went back on the Sunday, the weekend of the festival and again the food and drink was amazing.
The owner should be very proud of what he has accomplished and we will be visiting every time we go back to Cornwall. Well done.

1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback - and brilliant to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the village.
Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

It's a hostile environment....you can't have a drink in the pub you have to sit outside unless you want to eat over priced food! You are pounced on as soon as you walk through the door to say your not welcome to sit and have a drink and browse the menu!

3  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

I am extremely concerned by your review - and can assure you we have taken this very seriously as no-one has ever referred to our Little Pub as 'hostile' - it is usually viewed as extremely friendly.
On the occasion you visited, there would have been a waiting list for tables - and due to the small capacity of our inside restaurant, this would have indeed limited the space to the queue of diners awaiting tables. Our rooftop harbour view beer garden offers us additional seating for up to 100 people and as such allows us to seat patrons that are drinking during busy food waiting times where good weather allows us.
The Matradee would have greeted you at the door to enable them to add you to a waiting list of diners should you have wanted to eat with us, as this enables us to be far more organised about getting our customers seated in a timely and efficient manner.
It is a different style of service from many other pubs which inevitably does not suit everyone, however we do our upmost to try and keep as many of our Customers as happy as possible.
Kind Regards
Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We called in on the Saturday that there was a festival and the village was very busy. Whilst we were enjoying a quiet drink a member of staff approached the people at the table next to us and told them that they would have to stand at the bar if somebody came in and ordered food. There were no signs to show that seating was reserved for diners and the group were understandably unhappy. There then followed an unpleasant verbal exchange between the customers and staff after which a group of staff stood by the bar and were clearly making unpleasant comments about the customers.

We will not return

4  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanKat80, Owner at The Three Pilchards, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

I can assure you your feedback has been taken very seriously. On investigations made - it seems that the group had seated themselves in front of others waiting despite being made aware that people were awaiting the tables when they entered the bar/restaurant.
Regardless of this, I am extremely sorry that this tainted your visit here with us at The Three Pilchards and can assure you that the general consensus from our customers and through Tripadvisor is that are staff are extremely friendly and helpful to customers.
We do run a waiting list for tables during peak times - and due to the small capacity of our inside restaurant this does mean we have to prioritise the tables for diners who are awaiting tables. Our rooftop harbour view beer garden offers us additional seating for up to 100 people and as such allows us to seat patrons outside that are drinking during busy food waiting times where good weather allows us.
Kind Regards
Kat, Dan and The Three Pilchards Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Pilchards also viewed

 
Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Three Pilchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing