We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely unique bed and breakfast experience...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MV Ocean Warden

Ocean Warden - Our Home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation
The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Our grand-daughter! This shows the depth of the steps up to the accommodation
View from Cabin
View of the harbour from your cabin/ bedroom
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The View of Our Home
Penzance Promenade - only a minutes walk away!
St Michaels Mount!
Abbey Slip - only 2 minutes walk
Restaurant - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
The Meadery - the place you use your fingers to eat, and sample the famous Mead wine.
Longrock beach - You can either walk/cycle across the cycle path or its 5 minute drive away
Marazion beach - great for families and an ideal opportunity to get a Cornish pasty!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DizzyJuli...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely unique bed and breakfast experience. Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in! To have the whole top deck area of a ship as our home base for a week was amazing. The largest private 'balcony' we've ever had was an added bonus as the weather was fantastic.
Spacious bedroom and modern en suite facilities together with our own lounge/ breakfast room which was originally the bridge of the ship (all the nautical equipment is still in place which is fascinating). There is no pressure to be up and ready by a certain time for breakfast as a lovely continental spread (cereals, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice, lovely croissants and bread) appears each morning, as if by magic, in the breakfast room. It was really fascinating to sit and watch the comings and goings of a busy working harbour whilst eating breakfast and deciding what to do for the rest of the day.
Sue and Roger are determined to make sure you have everything that you need and as they live on the ship you don't have to go far to ask. They both have lots of info about the area and generally about life on a ship.
We would not have thought about visiting Penzance if we hadn't spotted this great place to stay but now we are in love with the area as well as the accommodation. When word gets around we think that this is one property that will be booked up early - so get in quick if you want to experience this nautical B&B!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay with us. We are so pleased you had such a good stay and have lots of positive memories .
We look forward to welcoming you aboard once more,
Regards,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning D
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice and special B&B experience!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

To stay on a B&B boat sound fun, doesn’t it? Yes, and it is. The top deck is neatly converted into a small “apartment”. It is up-to-date, special and functional - you have everything you need for a nice B&B stay, with short walking distance to restaurants and shops. The very pleasant and service minded owners live (discreetly) at the level underneath the apartment. A good breakfast is magically arranged by Sue (noiselessly very early every morning). Car parking is next to the boat. We simply enjoyed being on a boat in a harbor! But be aware the the Scillonian ferry is at the same dock. The activities start at 06:30 in the morning and the luggage handling and line of people on the quay is quite close to the boat. We were not prepared for that, but quickly adapted. We are early risers anyway, and apart from the weekend we did not hear anything. Else during the day it was very quiet and relaxed. Since it is a boat the height to the ceiling in the bath and bedroom is not as at home. All-in-all the boat is very fine, the experience unique and the service great. You have to accept the little inconvenience regarding the ferry and we do not hesitate to recommend her for a special stay in Penzance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and returned home relaxed and with happy memories. We hope to welcome you aboard again .
Regards Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vlad1mp
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent and different”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a last minute decision and what an excellent one it turned out to be. I had a really lovely week on board the MV Ocean Warden - the envy of friends who were staying in more traditional accommodation. The breakfast fairy deserves special mention, even delivering breakfast in time for me to leave at 6.30am to catch the flight to the Scillies. Roger and Sue were fantastic hosts and made me feel most welcome. Certainly not for those with limited mobility; access is via a near-vertical ladder. Also be prepared to be awoken at 6.30am most mornings by preparations for the departure of the Scillonian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again.
Regards Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahKM20...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely stay in an unusual setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay on the Ocean Warden, Penzance and the surrounding area have so much to offer - even when its pouring with rain!

The accommodation was compact but well designed and homely. TV reception wasn't great, but the decent wifi connection more than made up for it - and we didn't have much time to spare for television anyway.

The owners were very welcoming, and the breakfast which appeared in the cabin overnight was brilliant. My partner had some concerns about sea-sickness, but the position, size and mooring of the boat meant that any movement was minimal, despite the rough weather we encountered on the first night.

Overall a lovely couple of days in a pretty setting, made a nice change from the usual hotel accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Hi Sarah and Richard, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay aboard the Ocean Warden. Hopefully if you visit us again there will a bit more sunshine!
Regards Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing