We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Cape Cornwall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cape Cornwall
Seaview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Cape Cornwall
Seaview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Polish first
Any
English first
GLP1988
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & lovely sweet house but disappointing cleanliness and not homely!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i booked to stay at the cottage for 4 nights with a friend of mine and my 10 month old daughter. The cottage itself is in a great location if you want to explore Cornwall - it was easy to find, easy to park at, easy to access by train, great walking distance to Penzance town centre and an easy drive from numerous towns, villages and tourist attractions in Cornwall.

The cottage is sweet and pretty, and has been furnished and decorated in a nice, neutral, comfortable manner. However, there is a real lack of a 'homely' feel - all the signs / notices / requests that are stuck to the wall act as a constant reminder that the house is definitely a holiday home. We didn't feel as though the choice of equipment or set up was made with guests in mind - it would have been great to have a microwave rather than a bread maker, a fully functioning washer/dryer rather than the advice not to use some of the functions, etc.

unfortunately we found the property not to be cleaned thoroughly on our arrival - we were informed by the owners, who were friendly and quick to communicate - that this was due to quick changeover, but having paid the £45 linen and housekeeping fee, we were told that it was not possible to be refunded this cost despite (a) the bathroom not being cleaned properly (b) a pungent smell in the house due to a damp dirty washcloth being left in the kitchen (c) blood stained bedlinen, as the fee covers the clean before the next guests arrival!

We were also only provided with 2 hand towels between the 3 of us. the housekeeper, who only lives a few doors up and was very helpful and friendly, leant us a pile of her own, but the owner informed us that this was due to lack of clean towels after previous guests had used them all up. It would have been good to have sufficient towels available, again having paid the fee especially so that we didn't need to think about packing our own towels.

Overall we had a good time. It was a shame that the cleanliness was of a poor standard and that there were the issues surrounding the fee paid for linen/housekeeping and the lack of service received in return for that fee. However, we didn't let it dampen our stay - we won't be going back there but we had a lovely time whilst we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, parking
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a lovely stay at our house in Penzance. We understand that from time to time guests may not feel 100% satisfied with some aspects of their holiday. So, please accept our sincere regret that things were not idyllic for you.

Firstly, we would like to mention that we found it disconcerting to receive a number of personal emails from you (long after your stay) requesting a refund of the housekeeping fee in relation to submitting this review.

So we will try to address your concerns publicly as we have already done so privately.

The only concern that was raised with us regarding cleanliness was in reference to beach sand in the bathroom. This was an oversight on our part and we will ensure this is double checked in the future.

The issue with the number of towels provided was immediately rectified once it was brought to our attention. The linen was not mentioned at the time.

Extra supplies of fresh linen & towels are always freely available to guests from our store cupboard, or on request, from our housekeeper when the linen option is chosen.

The house has been recently refurbished and decorated, furnishings and appliances are clean and in good working order. In our view the house has been well kept and maintained to a good standard by our very experienced housekeeper.

We have placed some notices around the house and consider them useful in terms of safety and helpful instruction.

We appreciate that you have found the time to write a review and we are happy to take on board some of your suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarny21
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the beginning of your holiday didn't live up to your expectations. The cottage is self catering so we do not provide a "hotel style" daily maid cleaning service.

We do, however, encourage guests to contact us or the housekeeper (who lives close by) if there are any queries. We are available at all times.

After speaking to you in person and exchanging emails, you have since given us some really positive feedback.

Having had, in the past, very positive reviews. We find that the majority our guests consider Trezise Cottage to be clean, tidy, homely and inviting, a fantastic base for exploring Western Cornwall and moreover, offers great value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie...
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Lage der unterkunft
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen haben und sich einig, dass das Haus in einer großartigen Lage West Cornwall zu erkunden. Es tut uns leid, dass die Dinge nicht für Sie absolut perfekt waren, aber schätzen Ihr Feedback und wir werden uns bemühen, um notwendige Updates und Verbesserungen vorzunehmen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing