We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
398
28
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
28
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isles of scilly laura ashley homemade muffins sea view window seat pair of binoculars regency house top floor private car park ferry terminal tea and cake breakfast menu regent terrace on arrival great hosts restaurants and pubs three nights
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Chy-an-Mor is in a fabulous location if you want to arrive on public transport and get the boat. We had a really easy level walk from the train station and it's just a 4 minute walk to the boat, also on the level. They also offer free parking if you have a car. We chose this accommodation as Richard and Louise don't use booking sites so when you book directly with them you're saving 15-20%. This is because their competition are having to pay that for every booking made via a booking site. This means that they are terrific value, they have excellent clean rooms and serve a cooked breakfast to order which is beautifully presented. Our room had a fabulous view, a really comfortable 6ft bed and it was really quiet so we slept brilliantly. Oh and Richard and Louise could not be kinder more helpful hosts.
We actually run a guest house ourselves in the Lake District and it's fair to say that we are generally fairly critical when we stay elsewhere. In all honesty we can't fault this well run, perfectly located guest house - try it as you won't be disappointed and you'll have the added bonus of having saved yourself about £20 per night by staying here rather than booking via a booking site. Win win!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top of the house with great sea views, a perfect window seat and a 6ft bed. Loved it and it was really quiet too.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gill-David63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you Gill and David for this amazing review and for explaining about the on-line booking site commissions.
Your comments coming from 5* guest house owners are high praise indeed!

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Richard greeted us warmly and guided us to our 3rd floor room with a panoramic view of Penzance and Mousehole harbour and open seas. The room was spotlessly clean and contained everything we needed. The comfortable double bed and quiet location enabled a good nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was preselected the night before from a wide ranging list of options. We enjoyed our American pancakes with warm fruit compote, bananas, creme fraiche and maple syrup. The b&b has off-road parking in front of the building and is close to both the town centre and harbour for the boat to the Isles of Scilly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on 3rd floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank for saying that we are great value, Your room on the 2nd floor has indeed got great sea views, as well as the first floor and the higher ground floor.

I hope you will choose us again.

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

But one of the best B&Bs of our trip.
We booked Chy an Mor as it is located near the Isles of Scilly ferry.
Very clean and well maintained.
Friendly owner who volunteered lots of info re Penzance and restaurants.
Great breakfast and easy walk to the ferry in the morning.

Glad we chose Chy an Mor

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks Tom!
Hopefully you will stay longer next time.

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

What a brilliant B&B. If you want first class accommodation without the impersonal feel of a hotel then look no further.
We stayed for 2 nights before and after crossing over to the Scilly isles on the Scillonian III the ferry port is only 5-10 minutes away and the railway station about a 25 min walk. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, try the Dolphin. There are also plenty of spaces for parking your car outside the B&B.
The décor of the house is tasteful and creative and is obviously influenced by Louise's experience when she worked for Laura Ashley. Louise was a wonderful host, she is warm and friendly and when we arrived on the 12th Sept. wet and bedraggled, she immediately took our coats to dry and brought us a muffin each to have with a warming cup of tea. Although we did not meet Richard he cooked a wonderful breakfast for us with heart shaped eggs.
Thank you Louise and Richard for being such wonderful hosts and providing a gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Paumack_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Chy-an-Mor and we're so glad we chose to. It's ideally placed to visit world renowned attractions, with Lands End, The Minack Theatre and St. Michael's Mount all nearby. We stayed in room 9 at the top of the house and the views out to sea are fantastic - the view out to sea while showering is a wonderful memory. Richard and Louise are great hosts and made sure we had a great stay - Richard's scrambled eggs are sublime. I can highly recommend staying here and we will definitely choose to stay again when we visit Penzance again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews