We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a memorable visit to Cornwall”
Review of Chy-an-Mor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy-an-Mor
Ranked #1 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Friendly welcome on arrival from owners Richard and Louise with a pot of tea and homemade cake in the sunny garden of this stunning Regency house. Our 5 night stay in the beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable sea-view room was just perfect. Breakfast was excellent. Own car park at front of the house was a real bonus. Chy-An-Mor is in a great location and very quiet at night. A big thank you to Richard and Louise for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Sea view room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RenaldoandClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks Renaldo and Clara,
It was lovely having such fabulous guests who are so passionate about Penzance and it's surrounding area stay with us.
I hope to see you again on your next trip down.

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Chy-an-Mor is in a fabulous location if you want to arrive on public transport and get the boat. We had a really easy level walk from the train station and it's just a 4 minute walk to the boat, also on the level. They also offer free parking if you have a car. We chose this accommodation as Richard and Louise don't use booking sites so when you book directly with them you're saving 15-20%. This is because their competition are having to pay that for every booking made via a booking site. This means that they are terrific value, they have excellent clean rooms and serve a cooked breakfast to order which is beautifully presented. Our room had a fabulous view, a really comfortable 6ft bed and it was really quiet so we slept brilliantly. Oh and Richard and Louise could not be kinder more helpful hosts.
We actually run a guest house ourselves in the Lake District and it's fair to say that we are generally fairly critical when we stay elsewhere. In all honesty we can't fault this well run, perfectly located guest house - try it as you won't be disappointed and you'll have the added bonus of having saved yourself about £20 per night by staying here rather than booking via a booking site. Win win!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top of the house with great sea views, a perfect window seat and a 6ft bed. Loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gill-David63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you Gill and David for this amazing review and for explaining about the on-line booking site commissions.
Your comments coming from 5* guest house owners are high praise indeed!

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Richard greeted us warmly and guided us to our 3rd floor room with a panoramic view of Penzance and Mousehole harbour and open seas. The room was spotlessly clean and contained everything we needed. The comfortable double bed and quiet location enabled a good nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was preselected the night before from a wide ranging list of options. We enjoyed our American pancakes with warm fruit compote, bananas, creme fraiche and maple syrup. The b&b has off-road parking in front of the building and is close to both the town centre and harbour for the boat to the Isles of Scilly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank for saying that we are great value, Your room on the 2nd floor has indeed got great sea views, as well as the first floor and the higher ground floor.

I hope you will choose us again.

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

But one of the best B&Bs of our trip.
We booked Chy an Mor as it is located near the Isles of Scilly ferry.
Very clean and well maintained.
Friendly owner who volunteered lots of info re Penzance and restaurants.
Great breakfast and easy walk to the ferry in the morning.

Glad we chose Chy an Mor

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Chy-an-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks Tom!
Hopefully you will stay longer next time.

Kind regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

What a brilliant B&B. If you want first class accommodation without the impersonal feel of a hotel then look no further.
We stayed for 2 nights before and after crossing over to the Scilly isles on the Scillonian III the ferry port is only 5-10 minutes away and the railway station about a 25 min walk. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, try the Dolphin. There are also plenty of spaces for parking your car outside the B&B.
The décor of the house is tasteful and creative and is obviously influenced by Louise's experience when she worked for Laura Ashley. Louise was a wonderful host, she is warm and friendly and when we arrived on the 12th Sept. wet and bedraggled, she immediately took our coats to dry and brought us a muffin each to have with a warming cup of tea. Although we did not meet Richard he cooked a wonderful breakfast for us with heart shaped eggs.
Thank you Louise and Richard for being such wonderful hosts and providing a gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Paumack_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
843 reviews
6.2 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
0 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 84 in Penzance
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 84 in Penzance
607 reviews
0.6 km away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 84 in Penzance
392 reviews
2.3 km away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 84 in Penzance
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-an-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-an-Mor

Address: 15 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $78 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few hotels in Penzance. However we are one of the lovest quality guest houses located in a premier sea facing terrace in West Cornwall. A fabulous Regent grade II listed guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodatiion with fantastic sea views, plenty of private parking, guest lounge, south-facing garden and beautiful newly decorated en-suite rooms. A very large choice of breakfast using local or homemade products all served in a bright and spacious dining room. Queen and proper king bedded rooms available. Located in a quiet area of Penzance, Cornwall, yet close to good restaurants, inns, galleries, Isle of Scilly ferry, with long stay parking available here. Beauty treatments and free Wifi too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Mor Hotel Penzance
Chy-An-Mor Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing