We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
USD 197
USD 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 164
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 112
USD 95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 191
USD 185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 207
USD 200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trereife House(Penzance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dock Inn(Penzance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
62
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking roomenjoyed our stayoverlooking the seast michaelplaces to visita lovely stayfour nightsbeautiful roomguest houseon arrivalbed was comfortablegreat hostsfree wifiwest cornwalltombayaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

One of the best guest houses we have visited a warm welcome on arrival ,a stunning Georgian house a beautiful room over looking the bay with views of St Michael,s Mount .Breakfast beautifully cooked with excellent service and a lovely couple running the guest house.Tom and Mel were a delight to talk to and very knowledgeable about the area and places to visit.

Room Tip: Best views beautiful proportiond rooms all with sea views lovely decor and soft bed.with on suite.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maureensaysell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is the most beautiful and friendliest Guest House we have stayed in and we are world travellers. The family is so welcoming and the home is spectacular in its beauty, elegance and comfort. The breakfast menu was absolutely fantastic.
Our room was so comfortable, lovely view across to the harbour. No way is it "stuffy" - it is old world elegance and there is also a beautiful lounge room for use by the guests with a lovely view across the ocean. The information concerning local places to visit was so helpful and all in all I can only say THANK YOU to this wonderful family

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SthAussietravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful stay. Friendly attentive couple, lovely breakfasts and a room with a view to if not die for then stay and look at forever.
Some evenings we just watched the sea and the boats bobbing about in the bay. Best entertainment!
Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The owners were so friendly and knowledgeable about the local environs.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The Mount Royal exceeded expectations. Good location, fantastic views and the breakfast was excellent. We had a ground floor room overlooking the sea and St Michael's Mount which even covered in sea mist looked mystical. Very easy access from both the bus and train stations. The staff are brilliant and Poppy the cat is a real sweetie, very open to fuss and adoration! Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights prior to sailing to the Isles of Scilly. The building is beautiful and the decor exquisite. Great for parking if you have a car. Bathroom in our room needed a bit of an update. Our room had a great sea view and the binoculars added a nice touch. Breakfasts were great and made to order but the atmosphere of the place was a little stuffy. Could do with a bit more of a relaxed feel to put guests at ease a little more. Stayed somewhere more to our tastes when we returned to Penzance.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KernowThomas, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for staying at our guest house and highlighting the enjoyable aspects of your stay. We were surprised by some of your comments concerning the 'ambience' as the vast majority of our guests (including the AA inspector who recently awarded us 4 star Gold with the Breakfast Award) personally tell us how relaxed and at ease they feel during their stay and like our attentive, friendly customer service - all set within our light, spacious and airy sea facing rooms. We are a third generation family business and my wife and I who are in our 30's are very passionate about running our guest house and care a great deal about the experience we give to people who stay with us. We accept that 'taste' is a very personal thing, and although your comments are somewhat contradictory we are glad that you found accommodation more to your liking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews