We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What every self catering establishment should...”
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty
Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Relax in the sitting room with views over the gardens and orchard
The exceedingly well equipped kitchen
Twin  room
Half tester bed with silk drapes in the master bedroom
Friendly horses
Free rangers!
Enjoy afternoon tea in the summerhouse
Relax on a patio in the sunshine
Daffodil fields to enjoy
Peacefully located Boscrowan is a gateway to the Far West of Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
thedaveme...
Falkirk
1 review
“What every self catering establishment should aspire to be.”
Reviewed 11 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Our first time in Cornwall and we hit the jackpot by choosing Boscrowan. Stayed in the very well appointed Peace and Plenty. On our arrival there were freshly baked scones with cream and jam waiting on the kitchen table- most welcome after our journey.

The attention to detail was obvious throughout the house, from the freshly cut flowers to the top quality soft furnishing and bedding. We were made to feel most welcome by the owners Elizabeth and David who encouraged guests to make use of their small farm and surrounding fields.

Free range eggs are available and feeding the chickens was a novelty for us townies!

Lots of useful local advice as well as ideas for day trips was available for guests. We liked how 'green' issues were integrated into the running of the establishment and there were practical suggestions for us to consider implementing back home.

Elizabeth recommended Trengwainton Gardens, just a mile up the road and a fabulous place for lunch!

Having stayed in many self catering establishments throughout the UK, this is the standard that all should be aiming for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siegburg
siegburg
1 review
“perfect time”
Reviewed 25 November 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Boscrowan self-catering is a wonderful place in perfect quietnes and peace. The house, we stayed in, was cosy, comfortable and beautiful, too, just the right place to relax, nothing that could be improved.
Elizabeth, the owner, creates a wonderful athmosphere of hospitality, has got nice vegetables in the garden, she shares, and apart from that, seems to guess every wish in advance, at least, there are many nice surprises in the house, having to do with luxuriousness. The surrounding is very beautiful too. We spent one of our best holidays in Boscrowan and will definately go there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pp221
Derbyshire
1 review
“Paradise found!”
Reviewed 8 November 2009 for a stay in April 2008

Boscrowan is a truly marvellous piece of Heaven in the heart of the most scenic part of western Cornwall. From the moment you arrive, the peace and tranquility capture your hearts and the warm welcome from Elizabeth and David (and the farmyard friends!) sets the scene for a truly memorable stay. Whether staying in Peace and Plenty (sleeps 4 in luxury with all the facilities you have at home) or Ring and Thimble (luxurious and sumptuous!) you'll be bowled over by the cleanliness, attention to detail and the peace and tranquility of the farm. Guests are warmly welcomed and can stroll the grounds, collecting eggs for breakfast from the ducks or simply playing with the dogs and cats.

Log fires, warm baths, bracing walks across the local fields and hills, all these and much more make Boscrowan the perfect base from which to explore the far end of Cornwall, which still retains an air of remoteness and avoids to worst of the 'mass toursim' trends. Many fabulous beaches are only 10-20 minutes away, on the south coast at Marazion, Porthcurno or the beautiful Porth Chapel, and on the north coast at Hayle and the National Trust's Godrevy Point. Penzance is close by, with its shops and excellent pubs/restaurants, and St Ives is a 20 minute drive across the remote and wild moors.

Boscrowan simply enchants from the moment you arrive, and when the day comes to leave, you know you'll be booking a return visit! After 28 years of holidays in Cornwall, nowehere else has come close in terms of overall quality.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countrylo...
Gloucestershire
1 review
“Boscrowan - a little slice of heaven where peace and plenty prevail".”
Reviewed 6 November 2009 for a stay in May 2009

We're about to make our third visit to Boscrowan - a relaxing Christmas break just for two (we'll make up for our absence from our family at New Year). Ring and Thimble is as warm and comfortable as home, immaculately clean and well furnished and full of thoughtful touches, such as fresh flowers in every room, croissants in the freezer, and a picnic hamper, rug and binoculars to make a day out in the wonderful Cornish countryside even more enjoyable.

We particularly love Boscrowan out of season, when you can take fantastic walks around the rugged south coast or along the miles of pale gold sand east of St Ives to Godrevy, battered by wind, spray and spume, and return to a hot bath, a warm fire and a comforting casserole that's been simmering in the Aga. Equally lovely is a springtime break with the hedgerows full of wildflowers, and beautiful gardens like Trengwainton and Trevarno to visit.

Elizabeth and David, our brilliant hosts, couldn't be more kind or helpful and are always seeking to improve what is already a perfect holiday venue. Without being intrusive, they have the knack of quickly making you feel like an old friend and are always happy to let you explore their farm (with their friendly dogs in tow of you like) or to recommend special walks or days out - a visit to the nearby Minack Theatre is unmissable.

Although we haven't stayed there, we've had a tour and Peace and Plenty looks like a really superb cottage for small families. One thing we really like about Ring and Thimble is that it is especially designed for couples, so you are not paying for bedrooms you don't use - an annoying drawback with many holiday cottages. It's exquisitely pretty and romantic for honeymooners, excellently well equipped, great value and just darn comfortable for us oldies - like a five star hotel but with all the freedom to do as you please. As Pop Larkin would say, "Perfick!"
The Bowens, Gloucestershire

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiganLanc...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE finest holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 November 2009 for a stay in June 2009

June this year was our third visit to Ring & Thimble, one of 2 adjacent holiday cottages in the village of Heamoor near Penzance, and we have already booked again for 2010. The cottage offers luxury and comfort throughout, from the moment you arrive you start to unwind and David & Elizabeth are the most welcoming hosts, without ever intruding on your holiday. All rooms are well equiped and cooking on the Aga is good fun, producing great tasting food.
The village of Heamoor has a couple of stores and a bakery for you daily needs, in addition to a friendly, refurbished village pub and an excellent fish & chip shop. For everything else Penzance is a 20 minute walk and has an abundance of shops and eating places. The cottage is ideally situated for visiting all of Cornwall's far west and whilst a long drive from home it is most definitely worth the journey. Alan & Lesley, Wigan

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing