We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb home away from home in a beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Outstanding Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Outstanding Location
Old Primary School Entrance
Comfortable Lounge
Comfy Bed
Well Equipped Kitchen
Modern Bathroom
Large Garden
Private Entrance and Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie G
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb home away from home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Where to start!? On arrival, the owner greeted us with open arms, even having provided fresh milk and cookies to get us started. First impressions of the tour around the property were amazing - sparkling clean and fresh, very bright and well heated (particularly important as it was about 4 degrees outside!)

I'm a bit of a geek, so I was incredibly impressed to see a Smart TV, free WiFi and a DVD player waiting to go. Throughout the rest of the property, it was obvious the owner had kept this place with the times. It was modern and really comfortable, but still had all the character of a converted primary school. (On a side note - it was great to see not only a drawer full of books to read and a folder full of leaflets for local events, but also a pink folder giving the history of the building.)

We wanted for nothing - even down to there being cling film in the cupboards!
I scoured the reviews before I booked, not quite believing the incredible review ratings.

Trust me - they are spot on. The place was beautiful, the owner very friendly and the setting superb (my partner was really impressed you can see St Michael's Mount from the kitchen window!) In fact, the location of the cottage puts you about 15-20 minutes (maximum) away from most places on the peninsula - it's central and easy to get to and from.

We'll most certainly be back - because I can honestly say I cannot pull out a single thing about the place I didn't like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was incredibly clean, modern and bright
Liked least: We had to go home at the end of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette35...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy Retreat in the country”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Had a two night break in Cornwall recently and were in luck to have booked a lovely place to stay. The converted school house is situated on a quite country lane so very peaceful and no intrusive sounds of traffic. The host was very welcoming and the added touches of fresh flowers, milk in fridge, chocolate biscuits etc was very thoughtful. There was plenty of useful information available regarding what to do locally, places to eat etc. We had some really nice meals locally in Marazion and Penzance. A lovely part of the country... and a lovely place to stay... thank you Steven !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite and peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golcar
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and good heating
Liked least: my only preference is to have a king sized quilt over a double bed- but not an issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GayleDRea...
reading
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Mr ”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this warm , cosy accommodation for five nights in October , what a treat - view from the kitchen window of St Michaels Mount and gorgeous food , walking distance to the local pub.
We highly recommend the old primary school as very comfortable and peaceful .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovannaT...
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely comfortable, cosy , cottage ideal for a couple. Spotlessly clean with all the facilities you could need. Hosts were friendly , helpful and accommodating. Amazing views from the property, ideally situated for exploring local sights.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing