We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant location”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of John's Dory

Comfy sofas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfy sofas
Large and bright living area leading on to balcony Tea and cake anyone?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Comfy sofas
Large and bright living area leading on to balcony
Tea and cake anyone?
Fully equipped kitchen
Bright and light bedroom
Bright and light bedroom
Breakfast in bed
Cozy twin bedroom
Family bathroom with shower over bath
Mousehole at Christmas - a must see!
Central, harbourfront location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Baljordan
Slough
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“brilliant location ”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

we've just had a week here in Penzance staying at Johns Dory. 5min walk from train/bus station. the house is nice and comfortable with everything you need. local shops/bars/restaurants on your doorstep. locals are nice and friendly and give you tips on places to visit. we highly recommend Johns Dory to anyone visiting Penzance
thanks for the late check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47Ruth
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem of a stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2018 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed here last November and despite the cold weather we were cosy and warm in this beautiful homely cottage.

Such a fantastic location to be surrounded by all the amenities you need whilst at the same time feeling secluded and peacefully tucked away.

The cottage had everything we needed and Grace was fantastic in the run up and throughout our stay; nothing was too much trouble.

Overall a really lovely break away in Penzance and very reasonable as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrst148
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay When Visiting Penzance!”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I spent a very comfortable and happy week in this lovely, shabby-chic cottage perched on top of a shopping mall.

The directions for accessing the cottage were a bit like trying to solve a geochache but quite simple once you've been through them and we were glad to feel so safe in the gated area surrounding the four terraced holiday lets. We were also pleased to have secure parking below the properties and to be able to walk to the Station, ferry terminal etc without any hassle.

The cottage itself, as other reviews have mentioned, has everything (and I mean everything - from surfboards and buckets and spades to barbecue equipment and washing tablets. Everything was spotlessly clean and well presented - the furnishings are nice but not so pristine that you would worry about your children being able to enjoy their stay. We were very 'at home' as soon as we had unpacked our suitcases and we gradually got more and more chilled as the week went on.

There was a welcome pack awaiting us on arrival - tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, a bottle of wine and flowers on the table. Half way through the week a representative from the letting agent knocked to ask if all was okay and assured us that if there was any problem it would be dealt with promptly.

I can't praise John's Dory enough and can honestly say that we were sad to leave. The only thing I would say is that the proximity to the shopping mall could be a problem - I was woken at 4:00 am on our first night there by drunks/itinerants arguing and swearing loudly for over an hour, and as the shopping mall becomes an echo chamber at night it was quite disturbing. This was, I think, just bad luck and I wouldn't hesitate to book the property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie D
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 STAR home from home Perfect .”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

JOHN'S DORY is by far the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in .you have secure parking and a secure gated row of 4 holiday cottages . The location is perfect you are a two min walk to the main street .The restaurants along the wharf are of a very high standard . We loved this gem of a holiday home so much
we wished we could stay for ever . we will be back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words and we definitely hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giantcell
burnley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not our ideal position”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The accommodation was fine.
Access to the house after parking the car seemed a bit industrial/having to go up the " goods delivery " lift.
Outside the accommodation re patio area was a bit untidy and seating needed replacing.
If you need a firm bed,the double bed would not do for you!(too soft)
All in all value for monies paid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: parking available with the accommodation
Liked least: the bed( too soft)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are currently investing in new garden furniture for the 2016 season so hopefully this won't disappoint next time. The patio/terrace is maintained by a gardener so we will report these comments back.
It's a shame a soft bed isn't to your taste and most guests comment on comfy it is. I suppose it is a very personal preference.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing