We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good old meadery

Sea front meadery, old building made attractive inside by low lighting and wooden beams with... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2018
Maxim123153
,
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Waterside Meadery

Me and my family have recently met up at the meadery for tea. If you want to go for a light snack... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2017
100lukeb
,
Dorchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 129 reviews
  
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
70
29
8
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
29
8
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portions are huge fried food half chips crispy skin smaller appetites lovely meal low lighting sea front lovely staff blackberry carafe cornwall ship holiday
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Medieval styled eating. Lovely food and blackberry mead wine. ‘Yum yum’ small portions also for smaller appetites.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Penzance63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Sea front meadery, old building made attractive inside by low lighting and wooden beams with whitewashed walls.
Finger food and mead available of course

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Maxim123153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Been coming here for years, the small portions are suddenly gone very very small. Nowhere near worth the money. Terrible attitude from owners, when complaining. Feel sorry for staff.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kernowbird2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We use to live in Cornwall over 30 years ago and visited the Meadery frequently. We try to come back every few years for a holiday and ALWAYS go to the Meadery. We are here for two weeks and have visited 4 times. So I think that tells you what we think. The chicken in the rough is absolutely gorgeous. Juicy chicken with a gorgeous tasty crispy skin. To top it off a carafe of blackberry mead - Heaven. The waitresses were really friendly and we didn’t feel rushed at all. My only sad comment is they use to play Clannad Music, but no longer do. Not their fault. The young folk these days probably don’t even know who Clannad are. I would highly recommend the Meadery to couples or families. What’s also nice is that it hadn’t changed after all these years. Well done to the family who run it. Please keep it the same and don’t change it.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank santessap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Visited all the meaderies over the years but hadn't been to this one for a long time. Nice big table and absolutely lovely staff who were really nice. Unfortunately the food was very average. The Chicken in the Rough was great but the chips were dry and boring. Others had the Fish Fries which were good but again let down by the chips. Ordered a half chips half salad - the salad was also not good - it would be much better to have a salad bar where you could choose what you wanted. Instead it came on the plate and was very disappointing, couple of mushroom slices, beetrot slices and raw onion and peppers. We would come back again but on current form, would recommend the Redruth one more.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews