We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”

Review of 1 Ocean Gate

View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area leading to balcony with table and chairs. Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View over Newquay Golf Course and Fistral Beach from shared roof terrace.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area leading to balcony with table and chairs.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Kitchen area.
Open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area.
Kitchen/Dining area.
King size double bedroom.
King size double bedroom.
Family bathroom.
Sea View from shared roof terrace.
Sea view from shared roof terrace.
Gannel Estuary 5 minutes walk away from 1 Ocean Gate.
View from shared roof terrace.
Fistral Beach 2 minutes walk away from 1 Ocean Gate.
Fistral Beach.
Fistral Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BJacks201...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very comfortable and homely 2 person apartment, very well looked after, clean and tidy. It is well appointed with a comprehensive range of appliances and everything you would for a self catering holiday. It is a very short walk to Fistral Beach, and a 15 minute stroll into Newquay.

A previous reviewer mentioned problems with exiting the parking space with a large car (there is a surfboard cage close by). However, we also have a large car, but found that if we reversed into the space there was no problem at all.

We would certainly recommend 1 Ocean Gate for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for your positive review of 1 Ocean Gate.

We will pass your feed back to the Owners who will be delighted and we look forward to seeing you again in 2017!

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback of 1 Ocean Gate and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your comments to the Owner who will be pleased too!

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,
The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well equipped and in perfect location
Liked least: Position of storage cage in garage awkward for large objects (9ft surf boards)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you for your very positive response of 1 Ocean Gate.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your self catering experience in one of our most popular apartments and the owners will delighted with your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
Thank you for your positive review of 1 Ocean Gate.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location and the property itself and we will pass on your comments about the sofa to the owner.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the beach.
Liked least: The view. A shuttered,derelict hotel.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review on 1 Ocean Gate.

With regard to your observation on the car parking bay we have not experienced a problem before with this, but as you have a large car this is understandable. We will advise future guests with big vehicles to be careful when driving in and out of the designated car parking bay.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

The SCC Booking Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing