We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SuSURF BUCS trip 2016”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My surf club stayed at the escape for the first time this year for three days during the university national surf competition. We were looking for a nice hostel with friendly staff and a bed after a big night out and as a place to relax or get ready to go surfing. It was perfect for this and it out did itself; the included full english was ideal for a student about to surf all day long. the beds were comfortable and the rooms clean and with enough space for us all. the toilet and wash facilities were plenty and the bar area was great with good value prices on drinks. The best part was the really nice staff who did so much to take care of our group. the parking was fine and there is unrestricted parking nearby if you need extra parking. the hostel is also nicely located to get to local beaches or into town. 10/10 would recommend especially to students and surfers but also would be fine for other groups. I believe in constructive criticism as it helps everyone improve. it would be great to have a safer place to store surfboard(what is there is good but still lacks the security of a locked shed/room) and a larger line to hang wetsuits or potentially even a drying room. not for me personally but maybe some old surf guides in the bar would be good for weekend surfers. Overall a really great hostel look forward to going back

Room Tip: pick rooms away from the larger 14 bed dorms if you want a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sellyklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and is there to help you. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. Great bar downstairs where you can chill and chat with the staff. I will be returning hopefully soon. 10/10 recommend

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Cindywalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I spent two nights with a group of 15 people since one of my group has booked in this hostel in order to save money...
I shared a room with other three girls and we could't move inside because the two beds of three levels were so close that was not possible to stand at same time. Rooms are similar to a lager!
No linien and no towels. Very humid and not cleaned room at all.
Few bathrooms on the floor and in one of them wc didn't working.

Breakfast was good but the service not fast. I enjoyed cappuccino very much.
The breakfast room is lovely but should be cleaned, expecially the black sofas.

This hostel is for men and not ideal for women. Suggested not for more than a couple of nights.
The car park is free but small. However, there are other streets where to park.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank wienerwalzer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with a few friends for a weekend in Newquay recently. Great atmosphere, great welcome from the owner Jerry and the Thai food is unbelievably good....in fact one of the group who used to live in Thailand said it was better than anything he had eaten out there!!
Great value and highly recommended

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PandJode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The bar had a great atmosphere and is a great place to start the night, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Also the location is great as can easily walk to all the bars and clubs, whilst also being minutes away from the beach. The rooms were all extremely clean and the beds were actually really comfy great value for money was not expecting it to be this good, would certainly recommend.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Ssaha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 79 in Newquay
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#57 of 79 in Newquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $61 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing