We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend with the girls”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2016

One of the best weekends I have had in years, group of 10 ladies on a girls weekend away, aged 24-45. Fantastic location, 5 minute walk to all the bars, beach, town.
We all stayed in one room together and all agreed it was such a clean room with x2 showers, the beds were really comfortable (room 23)
The escape is a great place and excellent value for money.
We had dinner and breakfast and the quality was great. The Thai food is stunning.
Gerry is an amazing host who will go above and beyond to make your stay special.
Would 100% stay here again. Really funky place, great vibe, lovely staff
P:S- have a fabulous time, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Call Gerry he will help with whatever you need extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisesw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

First time I'd stayed in a hostel and was feeling a bit dubious! Couldn't have got it more wrong! Stayed here with 3 other girls the day before boardmasters festival and ended upstaying the night after boardmasters too (to avoid the 7 hour drive with no sleep!). Rooms were basic as you'd expect, but they were perfect for us and we had an ensuite! Gerry and Emma were amazing! From parking my car for me, to preparing me a virgin mary hangover cure when I needed it most, to giving us a lift to the amazing restaurant you recommended when our taxi didnt show up! All staff did an amazing job and I cant wait to stay here again on our next visit! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We were very happy with our stay at The Escape and you will be as well if you remember it is a hostel and set you expectations right. The room was just fine, we slept well and the size accommodated us easily. We had an en-suite, but check the room descriptions carefully. The host is really friendly and helpful as were all the staff. There is a bar with a pool table. Location near the front at Newquay is amazing. Overall an excellent stay. The only wrinkle is the parking which is triple deep and it takes a bit of coordination. So leave extra time (45 minutes) when you leave if you have a connection or deadline.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Cannot recommend the staff here enough - super friendly, super helpful and just all around legends. We came through last minute, and all the staff really took the trouble to look after us and make us feel right at home. Great vibe, great people and everything you could want in Newquay right by your door.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great time, felt very welcome and safe, met loads of great people. Everyone here extremely friendly, kind, and made sure we always had something to do! Would 100% come again and have already recommended that friends come out! Loved it thanks Gerry!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 79 in Newquay
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#57 of 79 in Newquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $61 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HostelWorld so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing