We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stag party venue”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went for it in Newquay its an amazing bit of the country , we needed somewhere to go mental and not spoil our fun and this was the place mixed with other stags and hens it was a great place with good prices at the bar . Rooms are exactly what they say on the other reviews but when theres a lot of you its a right laugh. Breakfast was nice tasty and available for the sleepyheads who don't get up till later in the morning. close enough to town for all the action and far enough away to get away from it . we will return ! thanks gerry !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had an amazing stay in Newquay, it was the best hotel of life!!!! The staff were OUT OF THIS WORLD, Tom was a gurt lush barman who gave great support and advice on violation. Carlos was ever informative about Newquay and Ireland, and Galaxy aka Charles was great at the worm (unlike Thomas and his faceplant). We will definitely see you guys again soon, promise!! RECOMMENDATIONS EVERYWHERE!
love Rachel and Georgie:)x

Room Tip: Room 11 is at the heart of escape, literally! Its the heart and soul of the party!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place is very good for stag and hen do's. No frills, budget accommodation that is centrally located, 5 mins from the centre of town on foot. It has a bar and the prices are very good compared to drinking in the town
Gerry is the consummate host, always there willing to help out your party. Noam is a brilliant thai chef he even cooked our catch from the fishing trip we had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rczolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures, stopped in a room of 6 barely enough room to swing a cat let alone sleep 6 people. How people can rate this supposed 'hotel' (more like a hostel in a poor eastern Europe area) as excellent is beyond me. If i paid hostel prices i would be more understanding. Most of the rooms did not have a shower or toilet and the accommodation is filthy. If your not bothered as to what you may be sleeping, walking or showering in at travelodge prices then this is the accommodation for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinesealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Escape, Owner at The Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

First of all I am sorry that The Escape didn't come up to your expectations I have checked the website and changed the places where it says hotel to surf lodge because that is what it is.The website does mention that it is a 18-30's surf lodge style (ie multiple occupancy). The Escape is not comparable to the travel lodge as the travel lodge isn't ideal for large groups staying up most of the night partying. The Escape is a surf lodge with a great breakfast from 8.30 am to 11am also a thai restaurant which is also suited to large groups. As to most of the rooms not having a en-suite there is 24 people out of 140 that don't have an en-suite and out of that 24 6 do have a shower. The price is around £35 per night in july when you stayed this reflects that this is a seasonal holiday town and we are busy only 6 months a year and for weekends only we are in the middle of town offer parking credit card locks on the doors a late bar, late breakfast and the thai food is amazing. I am so deeply sorry it wasn't your cup of Tea
Kind Regards Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you are planning a Hen/Stag in Newquay,look no further than this place.Gerry is an absolute diamond and always willing to help.Everyone really friendly.Lovely pint at good prices and rooms basic but clean.Well done Escape.I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 79 in Newquay
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#57 of 79 in Newquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $61 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing