We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
293
45
8
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
45
8
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stag do bunk beds rooms are basic top bloke bars and clubs the perfect place to stay brilliant weekend newquay town gerry hostel mates stags hens surf bedding ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2011

A great place to stay for 18-30s couldn't ask for a better place to stay, rooms are big, the bar is lush, the restaurant is outstanding and the owner Gerry is a fantastic guy.

100% Recommended To Anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dontstayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The Surf Lodge was clean, friendly and served a great purpose to sleep a large group.

I stayed with 10 lads for a weekend, they made extra parking spaces for us when we turned up.
The Bar was very useful and super close to Newquay’s Main strip.
We stayed in a Dorm which was clean and had two shower’s
TIP - There was no towel’s bring your own!
The manager Greg was very laid back and fair no problems with the deposit!

…………….. and finally nice touch Greg’s free pour Jagermeister for the Stag as we left!

The perfect place to stay if your on a Budget, want to stay close to the action and want to have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBrown_PZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I stayed at the Escape, Newquay with another 12 mates for my 21st birthday weekend.
Gerry and the staff at Escape were really welcoming and great fun-
The hostel is in a fantastic location for bars and beaches, and has a wicked bar area for socialising and pre-drinks before a night out.
We were in a room holding 14 people- it was clean and comfortable, but my one issue would be that there was only one shower between 14 people- (not ideal but ok!)
The restaurant attached to the hostel serves the best thai curry we've had in ages- it was so great not to have to go out in search of food! In the morning they cooked us a gigantic fry up, which really hit the spot before surfing at Fistral!

If you're looking for a hostel with friendly staff, great atmosphere, great location and immaculate rooms/decor this is the place for you! It is absolutely IDEAL for big group bookings, plus.. Gerry is a legend.
Thanks guys and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bags21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have just got back from the escape this weekend, and wow, where can I start ???

ROOM 22
This room sleeps 12, but don't be put off, room is huge, with plenty of space, 6 luxurious bunk beds await you in this plush pad, they almost feel like double beds!! So you won't have any trouble sleeping!! Their is a fantastic full length mirror, great for adjusting your mankini! A walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers for 12 people, top of the range trouser press and ironing board with iron. A superb security safe, to store your valuables or maybe your pint!! Fantastic view overlooking newquay town. The bathroom was awesome with a fantastic super power shower, a great way to wash the hangover away! Excellent air con, decor was very modern throughout room, we even had flowers in room which was a nice touch considering their was 12 males on a stag weekend!! Flat screen television, sound system, tea and coffee making facilities, wi-fi availability throughout hotel! Overall great value that can't be beaten. Thanks Gerry for memorable weekend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dontthinkso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here a while back in May 2009, group of 12 on a stag do. We were a group of mainly young professionals in our mid twenties letting loose for the weekend, so nothing too crazy or destructive! This was a great place to stay for the right price, with a good bar for pre-town drinks etc. The owners look after you well and it all went smoothly. I remember looking online it is hard to tell, especially for places in Newquay - sounds like a lot of teens complaining that they get told off for making a mess of a place. Really this place was a good base and I would highly recommend it for a group, especially a stag do.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmeagher83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews