We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 242
USD 235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 92
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 166
USD 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kirribilli Guest House(Newquay)(Great Value!)
USD 80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,534)
Filter reviews
1,534 results
Traveller rating
832
477
140
57
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
477
140
57
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsister hotelsea viewfamily roomswimming poolsurf shoplovely hotelsurf schoolplay areacoach tripreception staffrestaurant staffamazing viewshalf termbunk bedsfamily holidayshort break
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,534 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here Easter weekend. Parking was terrible, when you do park somewhere you get pestered by reception to move the car because they didn’t put anything there and it was reserved for someone else. The bar is ok but not enough staff to the point someone else served us who didn’t even know what cocktail he was making. Waiting time to receive drinks is bad we went down first day and I didn’t use this again. Room was nice, bed was very cosy :) could of done with a fridge in the room though. Would recommend for children as they seemed to have a lot of activities on! The restaurant was lovely too we had a Great three course meal just make sure you book! Lovely view and beach just across the road but a little way from town.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Kmay95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Kmay95

Thank you for taking the time to review The Esplanade and for your honesty.
Good or bad any and all feedback is gratefully received and acted upon accordingly.
Parking can be an issue, we have limited parking on site. However we do have a number of reserved spaces, also the only restriction, other than on double yellow lines, on Esplanade Road is that vans and campers cannot park overnight.
Good to read that you enjoyed the food and found your room to your liking. We do supply fridges, for a refundable deposit, from reception 24hrs a day.

And of course, the view.........

Kind Regards
Jason and The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

had a nice room,very clean,comfortable.staff were really cheerful and helpful.wasnt a problem we arrived early,although our room wasnt ready we could use the facilities while waiting.the children were welcomed,free chocolate easter eggs,full size and a complimentary build your own bear.all in all a good stay.
fristral beach was very clean as well as surrounding areas.

Room Tip: sea views would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Julie M

Good to read that you found us in good cheer and that you family enjoyed the activities and chocolate!

Hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Jason and The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a family room for one night on the way to st Ives.
The room was modern, clean and enough room for a family of 5.
On arrival the front desk gave the children a gift (build a teddy) which was a lovely touch.
The bar area was very comfortable with nice booths although drinks were slightly pricey but nothing we wouldn't have expected for a hotel.
The view of the beach was spectacular and when we visit Cornwall again we shall deffinately return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bettybooharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Bettybooharvey

We are all very happy to read that your short stay with us was so memorable and that you found our bar and lounge so appealing.
It will be even more so on your next visit as we are having a complete refurbishment of the lounge area very soon.

Warmest Regards

Jason and The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

So disappointed. Had an horrendous night, room had recently been painted, when we arrived the window was open, so closed it as it was cold, we settled in unpacked etc, went off to eat, the fumes were not to bad so didn’t complain that was the worst mistake we ever made, first we left extractor fan on obviously was noisy but the Cabernet which must have been directly under our room was so load, didn’t matter.
You could hear plainly people walking and talking as they passed the room.
In the morning tried to report our nights experience and was told we would be contacted later. Afternoon came so I phoned the hotel. Wendy I assume the assistant manager made me feel I was lying or just an undervalued guest.
Made a celebratory get away a nasty nightmare....

Room Tip: Inside rooms are noisy
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hungerbuster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Hungerbuster1
Although not a pleasant read, thank you for being honest and direct with your review.
I do wish you had informed reception of you concerns during your stay rather than to the night porter on check out, I assure you we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation whilst you were here.
I would very much like to discuss this directly with you, if you so desire. Please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards
Jason Coffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great views but otherwise not the best location as out of the Newquay centre, being in Pentire. Good food, though at breakfast buffet, as usual, food not hot enough. Friendly efficient staff. Pool very small! Pillows, in 109 at least very poor! The bathroom floor creaks horrendously and does need immediate attention.
So many hotels in Newquay, the Esplanade did not do enough to make me want to return.

Room Tip: Not 109 because of the bathroom floor!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suesw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsplanadeHotelNQY, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear suesw123

many thanks for taking the time to review and inform us with your constructive feedback.
All of the issues raised are being, or have been addressed. I am sorry that we did not reach your expected standards but still hope we could see you again.

Kind Regards

Jason Coffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews