We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had an absolutely spectacular stay, and this...”
other travellers have booked this property
WatersEnd House just 500m from the Watergate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
WatersEnd House just 500m from the Watergate
A great kitchen for budding chefs & for those watching,  a glass of wine .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
WatersEnd House just 500m from the Watergate
A great kitchen for budding chefs & for those watching,  a glass of wine .
8 pax HyrdroPool Hot Tub.... its pretty awesome !
Conservatory for all day Sun
cosy kitchen with aga & log burner
Dining room with inset log burner
Large Private Gardens with BBQ area & decking
An acre of landscaped gardens to expore with BBQ included
large ground floor accessible en-suite bedroom (suitable for limited mobilty)
view from master bedroom
Star gazing & Sunset Lookout
downstairs shower & toilet
majestic watergate bay only 5 minute walk
kiteboarding just one of the many activities you can enjoy at the beach - lessons available
stunning sunsets from jamie olivers 15 restaurant
Watergate Bay a dog friendy beach paradise
WatersEnd House just 500m from the Watergate Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had an absolutely spectacular stay, and this had much to do with the feel and function of the house and outdoor space”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were one half of a wedding party staying at Watersend for the week. The wedding was held at Bedruthan Hotel and Spa (Mawgan Porth) – just a 7 minute drive from Watergate Bay – so Watersend was very well situated for getting to and from the venue.

The owner had sent clear instructions and information about the area and property (how to access etc.) in good time, so we arrived knowing exactly what to expect, which was much appreciated especially after the long drive to Cornwall.

The house exceeded our expectations in every way. It was spotless, spacious and had a luxurious yet homely feel to it. For a group celebrating a wedding and the coming together of two families (so a lot of socialising and hosting) it was entirely suitable in its function with the added bonus of it being a beautiful house and fantastic location.

The house has a fresh, nautical, and homely feel to it. White linen, wooden tables/sleigh bed, a basket of throws, and cushions a plenty. Showers were hot and of high pressure. We felt spoilt with an Aga and two modern ovens – lasagne en mass was easy peasy, and I imagine cooking Christmas dinner would be a dream come true! The lounge was big enough to host everyone comfortably, so great for pre-dinner mingling and after, games.

The garden was a wonderland for a large group and meant that a football game could be in progress while a group gathered around the barbeque on the decking, another basked on the veranda (complete with outdoor sofas and table), and even some in the hot tub! Vast storage space under the veranda meant that our surf equipment, kites etc. didn’t take up room in the house – an added bonus!

In terms of location, Newquay and Padstow are just a short drive away so easy day-tripping, as are large supermarkets, so we felt we had the freedom to explore without having to travel long distances and had everything we needed was close by. We frequently trotted down to Watergate Bay (approx. 5–10 minute walk) for a surf and sunbathe – just be mindful that there is no pavement. This was not a problem for us – we just made sure we were sensible and faced oncoming traffic.

Watergate Bay is spectacular for surfing and all kinds of beach activities. The beach is patrolled by RNLI Lifeguards during the summer. It also boasts Jamie Oliver’s restaurant (Fifteen), Watergate Bay Hotel (great for lunch or a tipple at sunset), The Beach Hut (a relaxed lunch or dinner with great views), the beach shop and even a take-away. Although we visited other beaches out of interest, we didn’t need to as Watergate Bay provided everything we needed.

There are also some fantastic walks – for all abilities – from the house. The cliff walk from Watergate Bay over to Mawgan Porth was a real highlight, and also great for bird watching.

Lastly, the owner of the property was highly professional and couldn’t have made us feel more welcome. There were even delicious homemade scones and locale ale waiting for us – such a lovely (and very well received) gesture! When we could not figure out the washing machine (solely our incompetence), he was quick to respond and help out.

We had an absolutely spectacular stay, and this had much to do with the feel and function of the house and outdoor space. I highly recommend this property and the credibility of its owner, and I just hope we are able to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious house with everything you could want.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Watersend House with our grown-up children, their partners and a ten-year-old boy, a party of ten. There was plenty of space for everyone, even if we were all in the sitting room for a rainy evening DVD. We took advantage of everything the house had to offer: the hot tub, barbecue on the deck, the novelty of cooking on an Aga (there are two conventional ovens and an induction hob as back-up). Everyone had a wonderful time, we were in the sea at least once a day and the lad took some surfing lessons. The owner is extremely helpful and obliging and was willing to call in at short notice when there were a couple of things that were not quite right, or that we had not understood.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Hi Karen, Many thanks for your kind reveiw, i'm sorry I didn't get up to meet you all but was of course more than happy to help get your holiday sorted and enjoy the 40th celebrations in style. I look forward to welcoming you all down again soon where i'll take you out for some progession session lessons in the surf. Hanging space also duly noted i'll make sure thats sorted out asap. Many thanks again for taking the time for writing a review it is truly appreciated take care and all the best for 2016 Justin @rockpoolholidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris S
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here with 8 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs in June 2016 and had the best week! The weather was fantastic so we were able to use the hot tub and gardens as well as pop down to watergate bay beach which is right on the door step. The house itself was great and plenty of room for all of us. Would definitely return to the house and the area. Close proximity to other lovely beaches and cornish sea side towns such as Padstow. We also visited The Cornish Arms in St Merryn which would recommend for a great value pub lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous in Every Way”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself and my hubby, plus our 5 four legged furries stayed at Watersend house for two weeks in May. It was our second stay at Watersend in two years.
The house is large and very well equipped, the views are stunning and even more enhanced when looking out of the new bifold doors, which look out from the lounge, over the 1.25 acre garden and the sea beyond. The Lounge is comfortable and although we rattled around in there, it was easy to relax and make ourselves at home
The garden is totally enclosed and is ideal for children and dogs, where you could quite happily let them out in the garden and know they are safe
The addition of the option to use the electric gates, at the bottom of the garden this year, was very useful, however, care should be taken when pulling out onto the main road, as vision is impaired by long grass and shrubbery. The addition of a mirror on the opposite side of the road, could be helpful
The owner of the property, Justin is a cool guy, he lives close by and pops in to ensure all is ok, he also has another let close by, called Bubble Cottage, which he invited us to view, this also is a stunning property, which sleeps 6, this is also dog friendly and is located close to fields and countryside walks, whilst still close enough to the main beach at Watergate
This cottage is next door to Justin' and family farmhouse
There is new this year huge hot tub at Watersend House, which I only used a couple of times, it was clean and well maintained with jets that applied enough pressure to hit those sore spots!!
We fully intend to book Watersend for next year and can highly recommend this holiday let to others, it is large, and does sleep 12, but if you want to spoil yourself, certainly entertain this option, you won't be disappointed
The walk down the road to the beach is good at quiet times, out of season, but care should be taken during peak times, as the road is busy
Access to disabled people could be difficult, but not impossible

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's the full package
Liked least: Going home after 2 weeks stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing