We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views in a relaxed atmosphere”

Harbour Fish and Grill
Ranked #9 of 259 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Lovely food and service at an excellent venue especially on a fine day when you can sit on the terrace. Would happily recommend for a higher end meal.

2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Stopped here for lunch and the waitress took our drinks order. She seemed to be the only person serving but was also disappearing to make drinks, so we sat there clueless about how to order food in her absence. Ended up going up to the serving counter and asking for menus as it was 45 minutes until closing so we didn't want to miss out. Ordered food which took a while to come, but was nice. After that we fancied desserts but the lady had disappeared (again!) so we walked up to the counter and asked a gentleman for a dessert menu. He said he would get us one. Waited a further 25 minutes and nothing happened so we gave up waiting and decided to pay. Still no sign of the waitress so my partner waited at the counter whilst I went to the toilet. I bumped into the waitress out the back and she asked me if we were ready to pay. I said yes and that my partner was stood at the counter trying to! A shame overall that the service was so disorganised - one lady doing everything and a bald guy (not sure if he even worked there) stood around doing nothing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lauren635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening at the HFG. We were a party of 5 with 2 dogs and a 2 month old baby and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had booked ahead and we were seated in a cosy relaxed room with its own balcony and stunning view over the harbour.
The staff were friendly, the service was timely and attentive.
The food was superb, beautifully presented and tasty. What a great find.

Thank Dev0ndame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron J, Owner at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

The Harbour Fish & Grill was very busy the night we visited - and the manageress said it was her first week but the staff coped very well and the food was as lovely as always! I had goat's cheese to start and we both had the chicken main - and loved them. Then we had pannacotta and licquers - all lovely. The table next to us was very noisy - just high spirits - but if you want a more romantic meal, then ask to be seated somewhere quiet - it is a very romantic restaurant because of the beautiful view. I've already booked to return and done that!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron J, Owner at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate your feedback, we do have seating in our conservatory which is a little bit quieter and has amazing views overlooking the harbour, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Called in on a Sunny Saturday around 2.30 hoping for a table for late lunch, promptly seated inside (shame the terrace was full) but at a table that still took in the harbour view. Tables had to be moved as there were 7 of us but nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Really lovely waitress who was attentive throughout. Food simple but all excellent and a good selection of local beers and ciders. This is a must visit if you're in Newquay but ensure you book if you're not to be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JPChudleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron J, Owner at Harbour Fish and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate your feedback,
Our staff will always go out of their way to accommodate your needs.
we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thanks
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Fish and Grill also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Fish and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing