We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Tir Chonaill Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tir Chonaill Guest House
Ranked #81 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We decided on a long weekend break in Cornwall and chose Newquay as our base
We booked a double en-suite with sea view at the Tir Chonaill on Mount Wise for three nights B&B and was not disappointed
The Tir Chonaill appeared to have been recently renovated and freshly decorated which made for a good feel about it, with everything being clean and new
There is parking to both the front and rear (but you can get blocked in at the rear car park if you are unlucky albeit quickly and easily resolved) our advice would be get back early if you want to park at the front!
There is full, free Wi-Fi available and we didn’t have a problem with connection
We had a large family room on the top (3rd) floor which looked out over the town towards the sea, quite a nice view.
The bathroom was very nice with the usual bath/shower, basin and loo. It would have benefited from somewhere to hang the towel within reach of the shower though. There were plenty of nice toiletries available.
The bedroom had 1 double and 2 singles so would accommodate a family of 4, there is adequate storage for your needs and it is equipped with flat screen TV and Tea & Coffee making facilities
Breakfast, the usual cold cereals, fruit juices etc. were plentiful, the cooked breakfast, which was fresh and very hot, was most enjoyable
Service was friendly and quietly efficient if a little slow when busy, our room was made fresh each day while we had breakfast
The only issue is that Mount Wise is uphill from everywhere and anywhere in Newquay so if mobility is a problem you might like to look elsewhere
Would we stay there again?
Most definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank les h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2015

My sister and I stayed for stayed for one night, excellent location for a night out with parking at the rear. We had a lovely welcome, the twin room was large and spotlessly clean with 2 mirrors and a nice size bathroom with a bath! Beds were very comfy. Unfortunately we didn't wake up in time for breakfast but it smelt really good. We both agreed we would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannonC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I stayed at Tir Chonaill last week with my son and daughter.
Our room with en suite was immaculate, good size, plenty of tea and coffee.
Rooms and decor are fresh and clean. nice homely feel.
Parking out front and back of house.
Bridie and her family and staff were very friendly and helpful.
Lovely fresh breakfast with plenty of toast and cereals, fruit available.
5 minute walk to Newquay town centre, there is a steep hill to negotiate, but this can be broken up by a short cut through the back lane.
10-15 minute walk to Fistral beach.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahM607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This was a great stay for myself and my wife as well as my friend his partner and 9 yr old child. The rooms were much bigger than I expected and as well as being ensuite these also had wifi. Breakfast each morning was really amazing, great service and wonderful food. We especially loved the fruit bowl. This guesthouse is also well located for not only newquay itself but all of cornwall major sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

we stayed at the guest house in August and did not have the feeling of a guest. it was a pity.The breakfast was good and the shower also.The room was a little cramped.Although there was a parking place it was easy to be blocked in.More a b and b factory.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 km away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.2 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
776 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.5 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#20 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir Chonaill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir Chonaill Guest House

Address: 106 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Tir Chonaill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tir Chonaill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir Chonaill Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing