We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY IN NEWQUAY”
Review of Cotehele Lodge

Cotehele Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotehele Lodge
Ranked #89 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The cothele lodge is the perfect place to stay if your looking for a B&B in newquay as its just a few minutes walk from the town,beach and pubs. We have stayed three times to date and will always return here when visiting newquay as the the rooms are finished to a high standard and the owners nick and sonja have always made us feel so welcome,and they serve a great breakfast too.
Already planing our next visit,cant wait !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIGEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at this b&b for 4 nights in September. While the family room was spacious, it wasn't cleaned every day or even vacuumed and the beds were just pulled up and the sheets weren't changed and there were never enough clean towels for 5 people, also the bathroom tiles were coming off and my elderly mother fell out of the tub as the sides were so high. It was a disappointment staying here. Saying that, the hosts did seem like nice people but we felt like they were running a business rather than making you feel at home. Newquay beaches are impressive but unless you are a young person I would recommend staying in a different town as it doesn't feel very safe here. We loved staying in Falmouth for 3 nights and much preferred it there. I hate to give a bad review and maybe the owners will take notice and get better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in this B and B. Breakfast is not included and you have to ask daily if you want it. The B and B website is not clear on this. that said, the breaskfast was very nice and we had it every day. Dont be shocked tho when you pay extra for it.
We stayed in the Towan suite and i notice a review below someone mentioned no hot water, This was a problem we had also and had to play with the tap for nearly half and hour until the faulty tap produced hot water. When we got it working we didnt touch it again and it was no problem. Jacuzzi bath very nice.
Rooms are advertised as suites but arent suite size. They are "adequite", but not large. Bed was very comfy as was the room.
I had family staying next door in the Fistral suite and they complained everyday how cold it was despite the heating apparently being on. There is no double glazing and has a nice draft.
Also had family staying in another room in the B and B (cant recall which room) in a standard room. Im told this is tiny with only enough room for the bed. The table and chairs in this room are tiny like school ones!!
Location is great as only a 5 minute walk to Newquay town.
Would stay again but only in the Towan suite!!

Room Tip: Towan Suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Undercover_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Spent there 2 nights and was very happy with what I got for the price. The room was spacious and clean and bed comfortable. Shower was hot and powerful - nothing more to ask for! I enjoyed my stay, the only downside was a breakfast - way too oily in my opinion and bit bland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aventuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The B and B was very clean and comfortable. Great location just minutes to the town. Very nicely renovated. Though didnt like having breakfast in the room and did feel the breakfast should have been included in the price. Nick was very friendly and welcoming..Just felt the breakfast situation let the place down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthLIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

hi i am glad you found the room comfortable . we find most guests really like having their breakfast served to the dinning table in the comfort of their own room . we do not include breakfast in the price because many guests prefer to have a lie in and skip breakfast and we feel it is unfair to charge them for something they do not want . I think many hotels offer room only and b&b rates these days. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
785 reviews
1.1 km away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 37 in Newquay
115 reviews
3.2 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotehele Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotehele Lodge

Address: 84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotehele Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotehele Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotehele Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing