We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic characterful house in a sublime...”
Carn Du and the infinity pool with panoramic views of the sea beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carn Du and the infinity pool with panoramic views of the sea beyond
Carn Du's infinity pool looking out over Mount's Bay The front door with the Sunroom on the right and the windows of the Annex on the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Carn Du and the infinity pool with panoramic views of the sea beyond
Carn Du's infinity pool looking out over Mount's Bay
The front door with the Sunroom on the right and the windows of the Annex on the left
Looking through from the Kitchen to the Dining Area with the bay window to the sea beyond
The open plan kitchen and dining room table beyond, the bay window looking out to sea
The Living Room looking through into the Dining Room
The sun setting on Carn Du - view from the Living Room bay window over Mounts Bay
The living room with doors lead to the garden, and dining room beyond through wide double doors
The Living Room seen from the Dining room - with the door to the Sunroom beyond the fireplace
Bedroom 1 with the door to the balcony on the left
Every bedroom has a beautiful view - the bath in Bedroom 1 in evening light, looking over the ocean
Bedroom 2 with a bay window over the sea, and a door to the balcony with panoramic sea views
The ensuite bathroom for Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3, twin or double, has an ensuite shower/WC room
The door to the shower room in Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 can be made up as twin beds or a double, as can Bedrooms 1, 2, and 3
Bedroom 4, twin or double, shares the family bathroom with Bedroom 5
The family bathroom
Bedroom 5 has inbuilt bunks for 2 people, with a view over Mousehole harbour
The wide sweep of the sea from the sun room
Panoramic views from the sunroom in the evening light
The staircase from the Hall leading up to the landing
The staircase from the landing
Surfing in the waves at Sennen Beach
At low tide walk round from Porthcurno beach towards the Logan Rock, or along the cliff tops
The swimming pool is 4 ft deep and looks over the ocean
The sitting room looking through to the dining room
Carn Du house roosting next to Carn Du cottage
Porthchapel Beach
Heading to the sea with a board on Gwithian Beach
Evening light at Sennen
Woodlands on the path to St Loy
Stone bench on the road down to Mousehole
Tropical plants on the path to Mousehole
St Michael's Mount from Mousehole.
Palm trees on St Michael's Mount
View down to Mousehole, with its sandy beach and clear watered tidal harbour
Carn Du with panoramic sea views, perched above the village of Mousehole in beautiful Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mousehole, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelley K
1 review
“Fantastic characterful house in a sublime location!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A lovely house with real character in an absolutely sublime location!

Thoroughly enjoyed by everyone in our group…

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara C
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Cornish country seaside house we've stayed at.”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in July 2014

We will remember our holiday at Carn Dun for ever. The house is beautiful and to my delight there was plenty of wonderful books in the library. We learnt to surf at Sennan Cover and spent the days wondering around the sweet little villages in this stunning area. Thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful clifftop house...perfect for a large group”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Housekeeper Loraine cooked us a splendid meal for our arrival night as it was a Big Birthday event. She was so helpful from the start of our booking/planning right through until we left. Jules, the administrator, was also extremely pleasant and helpful.
The property itself is beautiful, full of character, books and lovely things. There is plenty of space and the kitchen is well equipped to cook for a crowd. The Aga was a great feature. The infinity pool was fabulous; unfortunately the Cornish weather meant we couldn't use it as much as we had hoped. We felt the bedrooms were 'feast or famine'. In other words, the two principal rooms were massive, beautifully furnished and with super en-suites, with panoramic views over the sea. The third bedroom was also fine but smaller and without the wide reaching views. It had the advantage of having the only shower. The smaller two rooms that shared a family bathroom were tiny in comparison. As all our group split the cost between us equally it was rather unfair that some of us had the height of luxury whilst others had rather cramped quarters. We found it an inconvenience to have only one shower between ten people and feel this is an area that needs addressing as many of us 'oldies' could not get in and out of a bath easily! We also had the annexe and apart from the shower plughole being blocked (we unblocked it ourselves eventually) this was fine.

Mousehole is a great location and we walked down to the village several times every day. The hill back up justified the ice creams and cream teas! There are lots of eateries in the village and we highly recommend Jessie's Dairy forage nights, hosted by Bill, the assistant harbour master. Many of our party are keen, experienced sea kayakers and it was easy to park up and launch from the harbour on most days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm of house
Liked least: Only one shower and weather
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entebbe, Uganda
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the enormous kitchen.
Liked least: Lack of showers!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing