We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week in Mousehole”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Dorrit

Kitchen & Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen & Living Room
View of Harbour Harbourside Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Kitchen & Living Room
View of Harbour
Harbourside Cottage
view from the bathroom
Christmas at Little Dorrit
Christmas at  Little Dorrit
Lights at Christmas
Front Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Outside courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mousehole, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martin d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in Mousehole”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My initial contact was with Pat the owner and I could instantly tell from my first of many phone conversations that we had booked the right cottage , our trip from Yorkshire was longer than expected so we tried to keep Pat up to date with our progress as she had been good enough to email me the day before to warn me of delays at Bodmin and had advised us of an alternate route via Plymouth . On arrival Pat showed us round the cottage and gave us loads of useful advise on where to shop/eat/park etc and was also kind enough to set us up with tea ,coffee , milk , biscuits etc . The cottage is rammed full of character and was so comfortable that we were reluctant to leave . thanks Pat this must be the finest cottage in Cornwall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to submitting this review. It is very important to us to make sure our guests enjoy their stay.

Thank you once again, it was a pleasure to have you as guests.

Kind Regards

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thorpecla...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“what a hidden treasure”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

I found this cottage on this website and booked for June 2012. I was with my husband, son and daughter-in-law. We had a warm welcome from Pat the owner when we arrived. Pat had fresh strawberries and clotted cream and a loaf of fresh baked bread on our arrival. We were able to unload the car a few yards away from the cottage and then go park the car over on the harbour carpark. The carpark is £3. If you leave the car there, you only pay the once. If you go out during the day, you pay £3 on your return........If however, you return after 5pm, the chap is not there to collect your money, so you just park.
The cottage is a really interesting place to stay. Lots of nooks and crannys, all mod cons, washing machine and dryer, fridge/freezer, microwave, TV with freeview in the lounge and a TV in each bedroom. Plenty of eating and cooking stuff. Crisp clean bed linens and fresh towels all prepared for us.
The cottage was as central as you could get to the little village and I loved being so close to the sea watching tides come in and out. Penzance was only a few miles away and as you have to go through it to get to Mousehole, I would recomend that you get your shopping from the Tesco or Morrison supermarkets en-route.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quirkiness of the property
Liked least: not a lot of storage in the main bedroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurobondg...
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Dorrit is a Delight!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This seaside cottage was everything we had hoped for. The Owners have gone above and beyond our expectations. The people of this charming fishing village were friendly and we felt right at home here. Although the cottage does not have internet, it was a blessing in disguise. When we needed to re-connect with loved ones and for business we just popped next door to The Ship Inn and were able to use their Wi-Fi. Great food too! By the end of our stay we truly hated to leave. We would highly recommend Little Dorrit. A charming little cottage by the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkins76
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not to be overlooked”
Reviewed 1 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a weeks holiday (just two of us). This cottage has two double rooms but it is ideal for a couple, as the cottage is in keeping with the houses of it's time - small Cornish fishing village. If you have small children then the 2nd bedroom is good for them. The cottage couldn't be better located - right in the harbour (you can see the harbour from the bathroom), within spitting distance of the local Ship Inn pub (but not near enough to ever hear it), within a 4 minute walk to two great restaurants and a stones throw to a few sandy beaches.

The owner Pat greets you and is very welcoming and the standard of cottage is excellent. You have everything you need right on your door step. No off street parking but you can find spaces very easily in the three car parks near by (all within a 2 minute walk to the front door of the cottage).

This cottage should not be overlooked as a great relaxing self catering break!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing