We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect accommodation, with beautfil beach views”

Review of Driftwood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The photos of this property (and description) are very deceiving. You get the impression that the chalet is more isolated than it is. In fact, it is situated in a complex of many unattractive units. We felt we were staying in a fairly grotty resort that time had forgot. There is no mention at all that Drfitwood is part of the Black Rock Beach Resort, if that had even been included in the description, or address, we would not have booked.
To be fair, the location was great, easy walking distance to the beach and lovely views. The Black Rock Beach Cafe though, was hardly ever open during our stay. As this is the only place to eat within easy walking distance, this was also rather disappointing. We tried to book a table there, but were told that they 'weren't sure' if they'd be opening tomorrow.
The chalet itself was reasonably well-appointed. It would have been much more useful to have had a washing machine than a dishwasher though.
The whole complex looked worn out and jaded, with rusty railings, and dismal concrete walkways/steps.
This is a typical example of selecting a holiday on the internet - always a bit of a gambol, and in this case, we were unlucky.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the location of Driftwood. The photographs do show the proximity to properties both sides and as you can see from other reviews we have never had any complaints previously but we will look at these again and see if anything needs to change on the website. It seems your complaints are with the Black Rock Beach Resort rather than the property itself and we will certainly feed this back to them. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelmG5...
Shifnal, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect accommodation, with beautfil beach views”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked this holiday back in January, and had been looking forward to it since then. We weren't disappointed!!!!!!
Beautiful views, great lodge, all you could need with a little family.
So close to the beach. The bar and café/restaurant on the beach were fantastic. we arrived on the Saturday and decided to go to Blackrock café for fish & chips........best we have ever had!!
we have had a wonderful week at Millendreath, spending many nights in the pretty village of Looe crabbing and eating out at the many restaurants.
The only thing to consider is the location of the property...........................
It is VERY high up (giving you amazing views) but there are lots of narrow concrete steps to get to the accommodation, and you have to load and unload your car from the loading bays at the bottom. We are a young family, but struggled to get the suitcases up there and ended up leaving lots of things in the car and just grabbing bits as we needed them. make sure you pack light!
with that aside, we have made wonderful memories and would recommend to anyone, but would warn them about the climb!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea T
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Compact and clean, nice views but a few issues.”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Recently stayed at Driftwood. Upon arrival the chalet was small but clean and we received a welcoming gift of scones/jam/cream which was much appreciated. The area itself is lovely although the walk from the chalet would not be comfortable for guests with mobility issues. The chalet is at the very end and at the highest point (lots of steps) but this does give you a good view of the sea. However it is exhausting when bringing up bags and also shopping. There is no washing machine available which is ok for a weeks stay but with a two week break you would probably need this facility. The decking area was very pleasant but no good outside lighting for the evenings. The main bedroom was small but comfortable however the second room (bunk beds) was of poor quality with foam blocks (not memory foam) for mattresses. This would be suitable for very small children but not for older children. Very uncomfortable. We had to use bedding from another chalet where friends were staying to adapt the room and sleep on the floor. I have mentioned this to the company who hopefully will remedy the issue. Wifi is good.
I would recommend the area however the issue of the second bedroom needs to be addressed before I would recommend Driftwood.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Little but comfortable appartment”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Little appartment with a stunning view on the bay. Well situated on the highest level of the Black Beach Resort. The kitchen just has enough equipment to cook. The appartment was very tidy.
We had cloudy weather most of the time and that might be a good thing as it was getting warm in the appartement quite fast.
All together we enjoyed our stay very much and it was very relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
847Andrea...
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect and lovely!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We came here for the first time and stayed for 7 days. The entire stay has been wonderful and relaxing.The appartment was great and lovely furnished. Everything was perfect and we definetely plan to come there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing