We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful Xmas break in a delightful cosy...”
other travellers have booked this property
aerial View of Summercourt
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
aerial View of Summercourt
Exterior Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
aerial View of Summercourt
Exterior
Lounge
Lounge / kitchen
kitchen
Bedroom
Around Summercourt
Around Summercourt
Play area
Beach cafe ( 300 meters )
Beach ( 300 meters )
Beach ( 300 meters )
View from cliff opposite Summercourt ( 50 meters )
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharon_a...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful Xmas break in a delightful cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely Xmas holiday. As there was just myself, my partner and our 2 dogs, we chose to book Linhay cottage because it offered everything we needed for a self catering holiday with our 2 dogs - and it was great value.
When we arrived, we were welcomed by the friendly & helpful owners. Philippa showed us around the delighful cosy cottage. It was a nice surprise to see they had even put up xmas decorations and it felt so homely. They even left us a lovely bottle of wine and a card.
We found it to be very well equipped and everywhere was lovely and clean.
The bathroom is very nice with a fresh, modern white suite and electric shower over the bath.
Linhay cottage is on one level apart from a small step up on the hallway, it has one good size bedroom with a comfy double bed, 1 single bed, plenty of storage - double wardrobe, large chest of drawers, bedside cupboards with bedside lamps.
The kitchen was well equipped too with plenty of cutlery, utensils etc,. full size gas cooker fridge microwave, kettle + toaster and again everything was lovely and clean.
The Lounge area is comfortable, with 2 seater sofa and 1 armchair, we spent every night cuddled up in front of the tv and found it really cosy. It has a dvd player but we didnt use it, the tv reception is very good and seemed to have all the freeview channels tuned in the tv. There is also free WiFi with a good strong signal which we found really useful.
The cottage is heated by gas central heating boiler (radiators) but there is also a nice electric blow heater in the fireplace that we (& our dogs) used to take the chill off us quickly when we came in after a walk.
We really had a lovely xmas break, completely relaxed and enjoyed exploring the local areas and beaches too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thanks for the review. really pleased you enjoyed the xmas break here at Summercourt. Sorry the weather was not better but you will be glad you are not here now with Looe and Millendreath flooded, so happy we are on the top of the cliffs!! Thanks again and wishing you a happy and healthy 2014.
regards
Philippa and Mac Hocking
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and tranquillity in large measures”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A wonderful week a way for me, my wife and our dog, Red! Staying in the Linhay cottage was a delightful experience, not just because of the superior and comfortable accommodation with excellent facilities, but because of the owners, Mr Mac and Mrs Phillipa Hocking who looked after our needs with the utmost care, before and during our stay.

The service provided by the owners was second to none, their attentive care and local knowledge was very much appreciated. With the very comprehensive nature of their care it made other similar providers of accommodation seem very amateurish indeed.

All of the cottages at Summercourt seemed very appealing, particularly so with the Linhay Cottage. This barn conversion was of a very high standard indeed, in terms of facilities and finish, extremely comfortable with an inviting cosy atmosphere. Everything that you would need was provided, compared to other self-catering accommodation in which we have stayed we would rate the Linhay amongst the very best.

The cottage is well located in a beautiful and peaceful rural location, and literally on the SW Coastal Path with spectacular views all round. Amenities on site are superb and it is only about an 11 minute drive to the town of Looe which has everything that you would need.

To conclude, we found our visit to the Linhay Cottage superb, with spacious and generous accommodation, well-appointed and with great hosts. Most of all it was so dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer Service
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thanks for the review and both Phil and I are pleased you had a good break with us. Assume you had a good journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thanks again
Regards
Mac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Spot, Great Cottage, Highly Recommended...!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We picked this holiday cottage as the price was very reasonable for a weeks stay in October compared with others I had looked at in Cornwall. We enjoy walking so wanted somewhere near the coast. We were not disappointed with Summercourt Cottages. The cottage was spacious, yet cosy, very clean and well equipt. They are located in a great spot not too far outside of Looe by car and walkable if you, like us, prefer to visit places on foot. If you cross the quiet road that leads to the cottages you arrive at a beautiful green area with picnic benches that looks out over the sea and Looe Island. Unfortunately direct access to the coast path at this point is not currently recommended due to landslip, however we walked various routes from the cottages avoiding this closed area. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who wants a relaxing break on the Cornish coast with access to lovely views, great walks, an easy drive to the pretty town of Looe or further afield, attractions such as the Eden Project. Thanks Philippa and Mac for making us feel very welcome, we would definately return and wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thanks for the review it is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed all your walks, more you than me!! Assume you had a safe journey home and all was well.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you if you return in the future.
Regards
Mac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;