We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect little place to stay in Falmouth.”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Balcony
View the Harbour from the Balcony View from the Balcony to The Roseland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
View from the Balcony
View the Harbour from the Balcony
View from the Balcony to The Roseland
View the Harbour from the Balcony
View from the Balcony
Street view. Porth Gwel showing your car parking space on left
The Bathroom
Pendennnis Castle from the balcony
The Lounge
The well equipped Kitchen
Relax on the balcony and take in the views over Falmouth town, Harbour & The Roseland
Cosy Dining.
The Hallway
View of the apartment block from below
On the Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LeanneFra...
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect little place to stay in Falmouth.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This apartment really is a home from home, with everything you could ever want and need for a short stay, with lovely personal touches and tasteful décor. The owners Jude and John were so helpful and we loved the little welcome pack left for us as a taste of Cornwall, clotted cream butter, Cornish seaded bread, saffron scones, a bottle of red wine, fresh herbs and flowers... I arrived alone and watched my husband's ship come in to port from the balcony and the amazing view it has over the harbour. The bed was super comfy with Egyptian cotton linen and towels in the bathroom. No expense has been spared here and it was worth every penny, which was coincidentally far more reasonable than any B&B I would have found. I would not hesitate to stay here again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the view and all the imaginative touches of the place.
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay !!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent stay.Great location. The apartment is spotless, a real home from home. We were spoiled with a lovely Welcome Pack and flowers on the table, a much appreciated touch. We could not fault the apartment . My Husband and I had a three night break. Loved our stay in Falmouth . We met the owners Jude And John and they could not have been more helpful. We would highly recommend this apartment. 5 star it really is !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was really clean and homely
Liked least: could not find anything I did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Jess2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect birthday/new year trip to cornwall”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a trip to Falmouth between Christmas and the New Year, where we stayed in this great self catering apartment.

The apartment is in a great location in a new build near one end of Falmouth high street. It is well presented and the extra touches like the bottle of wine and locally sourced Cornish produce waiting for us on arrival made us feel right at home.

The weather held out for us and we were even able to have breakfast on the balcony overlooking the harbour on two mornings.

We would highly recommend this apartment to couples looking for a romantic break in Falmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely apartment. It is in a perfect location just a short walk to all the amenities. There were fresh flowers in the hall and also on the dining table and fresh herbs on the kitchen worktop. The welcome pack was also a lovely touch and was really appreciated. We could not fault the apartment. Falmouth town is bustling, there are a lot of shops, pubs and cafes. Something for everyone. We really enjoyed our stay there. It's a shame all holiday accommodation isn't as good as this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia G
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a five night stay at 5 Porth Gwel and it was flawless!
The owners were very welcoming, providing us with a bottle of wine and a lovely hamper. This was a really nice touch and we enjoyed the Cornish treats!
The apartment is clean, cosy and homely. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and looking at the boats. It is great value for money!
Falmouth itself was perfect for us and we would definitely recommend 5 Porth Gwel to others. We plan to visit again next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing