We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay, absolutely perfect.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Reach

The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably
You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
The kitchen is well equipped and huge.
We have tried to think of everything so that you don't have to.
The Rangemaster double oven gas cooker is really great for master chef creations.
The art work found throughout the property is by local artists.
The twin room is great for children when they are ready for a good night's sleep.
We have been told by many guests that our beds are really comfy.
The ensuite kingsize room is great place to escape to  and relax on the reclining sofa.
Both kingsize rooms have flat screen TVs,DVD players and hairdryers..
All of our rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard.
The ensuite bathroom has an electric Mira shower, the best shower on the planet.
Sit out on the enclosed terrace which is a real suntrap in the afternoon and evenings.
Captain's Reach was built in the late 1800's as a Captain's home.
Look out for the slate Captain's Reach sign above the porch doors.
Only two doors away from our property this pub serves excellent food.
This is a view from outside the house we look forward to seeing you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carmenktj
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as a group of four to Falmouth near the end of September for a week.
We arrived later than expected but was still given a very warm welcome by Gaye, So sweet to have Cornish scones with clotted cream and jam awaiting our arrival and much appreciated after a long day of travel.
The property was lovely, spacious and wonderfully equipped, everything was well looked after and top quality. Being as we booked a self catering apartment, we expected that we will need to bring our own basic essentials such as washing up liquid, cleaning products/equipment, kitchen towel, coffee, tea, sugar, salt, pepper, herbs and spices etc..
To our surprise, it was all provided!
It felt so homely that we could just walk in and everything was just there. A fantastic collection of books in every room and even Netflix was available if we wanted to watch any movies! It's like a home away from home.
All rooms are a very good size, clean and inviting. On the ground floor a twin room and along the corridor leading to the rear end of the property a double room. In the other direction; stairs leading down to basement converted into the master bedroom with en-suite to the front of the property.
Gaye lives just upstairs, though during our stay hardly noticed at all; apart from the occasional encounters in the hallway which always ended with some really good local advice, hints and tips on where to visit and how to get there.
Cannot fault the care and maintenance, Great host. Absolutely perfect.

Location was superb, dot in the middle of Cornwall, ideal to get to and around the areas of Cornwall we intended to visit. We arrived back at various times of the day and although there is no allocated parking space and street parking was always busy, we always managed to find a space along the same street. (might need to sharpen your parallel parking skills lol)
It's an easy 5 minute downhill walk to town centre and pier and a 15 minute walk back up if you are unfit like me. We walked everywhere when visiting in and around Falmouth and only took the car when visiting the areas outside.

Will (..and Have already) recommended this place to many friends, It's a home away from home but just a little more luxurious.

Thank you Gaye for an Amazing and absolutely perfect stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to stay again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemmafrom...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house, great location!! Look forward to returning”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely 3 bedroom, 2 shower room holiday home in a great location for Falmouth. A 5 minute walk takes you into the heart of Falmouth, with it's lovely shops and restaurant. The walk up is up steps, 76 to be precise! But I managed it at 8 months pregnant along with my parents in their mid 60s. Also the beach is about a 10 minute walk away. All in all a fab location!
We were met by Gaye the owner on arrival, who couldn't have been more helpful. She showed us round and had baked scones! Yum! Gaye and Jeremy were always on hand if we needed them.
2 of the bedrooms are large doubles, with 5 foot beds and then there is a small twin. The beds were really very comfortable. They have hair dryers, the doubles a tv too. There's plenty of hanging space and drawers.
The lounge/dining area has fab views onto Falmouth harbour and has dining seating for 6 as well as two large sofas, one with 2 reclining seats. The tv has access to Netflix, as well as a comprehensive DVD library and a wii with various games. Wifi is also available free of charge and it was a really good service.
The kitchen was fully equipped even with a filter coffee machine, there is also a washing machine and tumble dryer. There isn't however a dishwasher. From the kitchen you can access the courtyard, with a small table and chairs which got the sun late afternoon. Also there was a very good gas BBQ which we used to make a lovely dinner.
We also ate out in Falmouth, Hunky Dory was really lovely and probably my favourite. We also enjoyed Harbour View and Fuel.
To top it all off we had great weather and didn't want to leave!! Thank you very much, we hope to return again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David5957
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home From Home But With A View”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic Victorian property which is finished to a very high standard with all of the amenities of home and more.
We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived with a Cornish Tea provided as a welcome gift by the owners of the property.
The owners were extremely helpful providing lots of information not only of the amenities of the house eg. washing machine, tumble dryer, games consoles and barbecue etc. but also local tourist attractions and suggested places of interest.
The owners who live upstairs were never intrusive but on hand to answer any questions.
The views from the property which overlooked the harbor were superb and is
a good base to stay to explore the Cornish Coastal area by road but also by sea, with boat trips from the harbor to visit neighboring coastal towns, sea fishing and trips to view the dolphins.
The staff of the local pub situated 50 yards away which also overlooks the harbor were very friendly.
We would strongly recommend a visit to this beautiful property we will be planning to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad you enjoyed your time in Falmouth. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell T
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, simply stunning, whole heartedly recommend”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) spent a very, very happy week in this lovely place - so well appointed and fantastic attention to detail. Spectacular views of the sunrise over the harbour and so central to the many, many things to do in Falmouth. The owners were fabulous; living upstairs but never intrusive - a real delight. We will return here again and again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many reasons. But the best endorsement is that we really want to return
Liked least: Can't fault it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. So Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agodwin06...
La Roquette-sur-Siagne, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation rental property”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in the property and really could not fault it. The standard of decoration and quality of equipment was much more than expected. We didn't use half of what was there : bbq, games consoles, etc, etc.

Able to find on street parking every day within 50 metres of the house.

Location is fine, short walk into down (but steep climb back!). Small supermarket within walking distance, short drive to nearest larger stores.

Quiet location, pub 50 metres along the street. Very helpful owner, lives on upper floor.

Nothing negative to report at all. Would be happy to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was fully equipped with everything you could need.
Liked least: The only down point was not being able to open the large sash windows in the lounge.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing