We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”
Review of The Rathgowry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rathgowry
Ranked #11 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from the most relaxing holiday week spent at the Rathgowry.
Sharon and Mike have created an extremely lovely, spotless and very welcoming guest house. Breakfasts were delicious and the little touches in the rooms ( super hot chocolate and yummy cookies, cute little teddy bears, bottled water and clothes racks, to name but a few) were much appreciated.
Superb location for Gyllyngvase beach and only 10 minutes walk from the town made it even more fabulous. Thoroughly recommend it. Thank you Sharon and Mike! We had a truly wonderful time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Lovely bed and breakfast in a lovely location. Only 15 minutes walk from the centre and 1 minute walk to the beach! Sharon was a great host and we even got a little bag of sweets for our journey home! We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank clairelouise780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Booked 2 nights at the Rathgowry. Great hospitality from the start. Lovely light airy room with amazingly comfortable bed and lovely clean bathroom. You get to pick your breakfast the night before. Loads of choice. On the morning breakfast was cooked fresh and really hit the spot. Great interactions from all the staff so hospitable. Can't fault our stay right down to being given a bag of sweets for the journey home. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanieg731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Rathgowrie guest house
Sharon and mike proprietors,
Arrived 5.15 pm Sunday 9th july 2017 welcomed by Sharon everything explained quickly and efficiently. Room 4 nice view,bright clean ample wardrobe and drawer setup ,ensuite bathroom large and spotlessly clean.Breakfast is served in a large dining room with fresh clean linen on the tables the food is great with the usual buffet help yourself options, and a cooked plate ordered the previous day through a tick sheet giving lots of choice toast served as required, breakfast I have to say really impressed me and appeared to run really smoothly with absolutely no problems. A top tip is phone your booking in direct to the Rathgowrie you get a better price than any offered online. You are made to feel really welcome here nothing is to much trouble and Sharon and Mike are really knowledgeable about the local area. On our first night we visited Gyllyvase beach ate at the Gylly beach restaurant on the beach , good food beer and live music , and then walked along the cliff path to swan pool for beer and coffee in hooked on the rocks caffe/bar. Very nice.
Walking into town involves a 10 to 15 minute treck up Gyllyvase hill then down avenue road and round into the town centre an easy walk but hilly. The town centre of Falmouth is full of quirky shops and more mainstream supermarkets making it great for the days when the beach is not really an option.
On the days that the beach is an option Gyllyvase beach is nice but busy a slightly quieter option is a short cliff walk or drive to Swanpool beach just round the coast with another 2 mile cliff walk taking you to Maenporth beach which is really nice with gently shelving sandy bottom, a nice cafe, and caves for the youngsters to explore. It is also easily reached by road and has plenty car parking for a small price. The views on the cliff walk are spectacular with derelict Second World War concrete bunkers dotted along the way, although they are easily missed because of undergrowth.
For those who enjoy a beer with a meal or just for its own sake I can recommend one that I found in Falmouth Korev, Crafted in St Austell. Korev has a pale colour and a clean, crisp taste, it seems to come in 500ml bottles it really hits the spot a tasty lager.

Room Tip: Room 4 has no balcony, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eddieg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Thank again to the both of you Sharon and Mike. We really enjoy our short but comfortable stay at your B&B in Falmouth. Carry on the way you do and we wish you the very best. Take care! Ron and Rosemarie

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 742ronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
157 reviews
0.3 km away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#8 of 82 in Falmouth
208 reviews
0.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,238 reviews
6.4 km away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
735 reviews
3.9 km away
Number Fifty Townhouse Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rathgowry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rathgowry

Address: Rathgowry Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rathgowry 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathgowry Guesthouse has stunning sea & beach views and is ideally situated only 60m from the award winning Gyllyngvase Beach and just a 10 minutes walk from Falmouth town centre, where there is a wide selection of shops, galleries, cafes, restaurants and bars. All of our rooms are light and airy and the fluffy pillows, duvets and quality linen make for an excellent nights sleep. Falmouth is a perfect base for exploring all of Western Cornwall. The guesthouse is exceptionally clean and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with many offering great sea & beach views. The Rathgowry offers a delicious and extensive breakfast menu using locally sourced products. The owners look forward to welcoming their guests and sharing their local knowledge to ensure you have a fantastic stay in Falmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your The Rathgowry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rathgowry Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing