We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”
Review of The Rathgowry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rathgowry
Ranked #10 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

I booked this two night stay as a surprise for my husbands birthday. I was incredibly pleased to find on arrival that this beautiful bed and breakfast exceeded expectations!

Firstly it has spectacular views out to sea across a lovely beach, but on entering you find a tidy and welcoming environment that's very well kept.

Our room was spacious and well laid out with easily enough room for the travel cot for our 8 month old son. The TV provided was not very big but we found we didn't even want to turn it on. The view from our window was much better to look at!

I'm a vegetarian but my husband isn't and we both found the breakfast delicious! I in particular did as I'm fussy with eggs, and the scramble with my veggie full English was the best I've had out.

The best thing about this place though are the people who run it. Genuinely friendly and caring, very helpful making the stay pleasant with our little one, cooking the super breakfast and even adding the little touches like the free teddy and birthday sweets!

If I ever stay in Falmouth again then I'll definitely be looking here for my first choice.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rinny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Such a wonderful place!
We arrived on Thursday morning we were allowed to leave our car on the property and I was given a map and directions to the town and popular places in the area. We walked to the main high street to meet friends. The shops and restaurants are fantastic. We were able to come back at 2pm and check in early. We were offered help to carry cases up. Our room was lovely, we stayed for four nights for a friends wedding our room was always clean, we had a en suit with a bath my boyfriend would have preferred a shower but it had a shower hear and it was lovely it wasn't a problem for me I enjoyed the bath. Towels, tea and biscuits replaced every morning. You're given breakfast menus to fill in and leave the night before so your breakfast is ready in the morning but a few times when we had been hungover we had forgotten but our choices were remembered and we always got a lovely breakfast quickly with friendly service! Our friends who were getting married had a baby girl one evening we offered to baby sit and it was no problem for us to have a baby staying with us for one night! They were so accommodating nothing was an issue and it was so relaxed it felt like home! The couple were just wonderful and although it's a long drive down from Yorkshire it was so worth it! The beach near by is beautiful nothing bad to say!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Both Michael and Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, they even seemed to read our minds! They always greeted us with a smile, were always interested in our plans and were full of information themselves. The beach was a few minutes away, the town 20 minutes walk - but there were buses! We can't fault this B and B on any count!

Room Tip: We had the double room with the sofa - perfect for realaxing! It was on the first floor but we had h...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbaraj376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

A first class guest house brilliantly placed for Gyllingvase beach & a short walk to Falmouth Town railway station and tha centre of the town. Our room (No 2) had
a balcony with stunning views to the beach below. Certainly worth booking if you are in Falmouth for an enjoyable leisure break.

Room Tip: No 2 at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lovely Hotel in Falmouth. Ideally located for a short stroll to the beach and the harbour/town areas.
Wonderful hosts, beautiful breakfast and rooms exceptionally clean & spacious.
Cannot fault & would definitely return, wished we had booked for a longer stay we were so impressed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindahA5615IP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
161 reviews
0.3 km away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 82 in Falmouth
209 reviews
0 km away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#8 of 82 in Falmouth
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#4 of 82 in Falmouth
420 reviews
0.8 km away
Lyonesse Guest House
Lyonesse Guest House
#12 of 82 in Falmouth
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Bosanneth Hotel
Bosanneth Hotel
#11 of 82 in Falmouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rathgowry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rathgowry

Address: Rathgowry Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rathgowry 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathgowry Guesthouse has stunning sea & beach views and is ideally situated only 60m from the award winning Gyllyngvase Beach and just a 10 minutes walk from Falmouth town centre, where there is a wide selection of shops, galleries, cafes, restaurants and bars. All of our rooms are light and airy and the fluffy pillows, duvets and quality linen make for an excellent nights sleep. Falmouth is a perfect base for exploring all of Western Cornwall. The guesthouse is exceptionally clean and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable with many offering great sea & beach views. The Rathgowry offers a delicious and extensive breakfast menu using locally sourced products. The owners look forward to welcoming their guests and sharing their local knowledge to ensure you have a fantastic stay in Falmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rathgowry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rathgowry Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing