We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
'Summer Room' facing The River Dee.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Summer Room' facing The River Dee.
Dining Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
'Summer Room' facing The River Dee.
Dining Room.
Front Garden
Lawn in front of house
River View from Front Lounge area
Personal Seated Landing Stage at front of house.
Kitchen Area
Dining Room
Living Room
Living Room
Master Bedroom, facing River Dee
Living Room
Bunk bed room.
Bunk Bed Room
'Summer Room' facing the River Dee.
Master Bedroom
Living Room.
View of River Dee from living room.
Front garden area and River Dee.
Summer Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sverrir R
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house is very well located by the River and close to a very nice Garden. It takes less than 5 min to walk into the center of town.
the house is very well maintained, very clean and well equipped, has everything you need for you stay.

I spent 4 nights there with my wife and mother and we all had a wonderful stay.
Sverrir Reynisson

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Sverrir is a regular customer of mine. I am always trying to improve my guests experience at Rondeva. I am extremely pleased with this review. Many thanks. Regards. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S B
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, superb location ”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Family gathering in Chester to celebrate a special birthday was made extra special by staying in this lovely house
The riverside location is simply beautiful and a never ending source of entertainment - birds, dog walkers and various water crafts!
Chester's historic city centre is within easy walking distance so hardly used the car once we had parked up on arrival
All mod cons & comfortable beds added to the great experience
Kindness & cooperation of the owner very much appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
I am extremely pleased with this review. The guests were a pleasure to have at my lovely Holiday Home. I always try my best to ensure that they experience a comfortable stay. Many thanks Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKLnB
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best location in Chester”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Rondeva. I grew up in Chester so knew that the location of the house would be good but until you stay there you don't fully appreciate how amazing it really is.
I wanted to show my 3 young children my home town so we had a pretty packed schedule. Staying right on the banks of the river, with loads of wildlife and boats to watch was such a treat, not to mention having the play area of Grosvenor Park pretty much on the doorstep!
The amphitheatre, walls, restaurants, racecourse, cathedral, museums, shops, boat and bus tours are all just a couple of minutes walk away. We were also within a short car ride of the Zoo and Aquarium.
It was so nice after a long day of sight seeing to wander into town for dinner, knowing that it was just a short walk back 'home'.
The house has great facilities, dishwasher, washing machine (tablets provided for both), TV, WIFI, hair-drier, towels, shower gels. There is even tea, coffee and milk for a cuppa as soon as you arrive. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need, and if you did want to cook, there are a few recipe books for inspiration too - There is a large Waitrose within walking distance for any bits and bobs you might need.
Rondeva is a period house and has a wonderfully quirky nature. We had a fantastic time there and were amazed that despite our busy schedule (and 3 small children), we felt so rested and relaxed in our surroundings.
The best part for me though was the view from the lounge and bedroom windows. It was so lovely to look out onto the river and the tranquillity of The Meadows. Yes, there are other places to stay in Chester, but none of them will have a view and location as fabulous as Rondeva.
The children are already asking if we can visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location, oh, and the view.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
I am so pleased my guests always enjoy there time at Rondeva and want to return. I am continually trying to improve Rondeva despite all the positive feedback!! I would encourage potential guests to visit and experience this beautiful house and area. Regards Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelBug...
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous location, great hospitality”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Location perfect with riverside views, and short walk into Grosvenor Park which has lovely playground facilities for children, not forgetting the squirrels. Short walk into Chester itself.
House beautiful and clean and is well equipped with snug lounge.
Lovely touches with bottle of fizz and sweets and toys left for children on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Once again an excellent review!! I continue to be pleased that my guests enjoy their stay at Rondeva. I look forward to seeing "TravelBugs100!" again! Regards Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mummyruth
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a great 4 night stay here. House is well placed, right on the edge of the river with a pleasant walk through the park to the city shops. Kids loved the Playpark just across the road and the view over the river just lovely. House itself is quite old with uneven floors and walls but very comfortable and clean. Chris very helpful and just a text away. Parking on the narrow road not for the faint hearted if you're not used to city parking. Overall I'd say if you are used to ultra modern then might not be for you but we loved it, lots of character and location couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
I am pleased Ruth enjoyed her stay. It's a lovely 1862 Grade 2 Listed Building with lots of character. I look forward to Ruth staying again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing