We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chester Visitor Information Centre
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Ideal place to get ideas as to where to visit.

Litterally a stones throw from the Cathedral, next to to the Town Hall, we popped in here and got a... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2018
jackinbox99
,
Coventry
Helpful

A small little palce next to the Town Hall where you can book up tours, zoo trips, bus trips, grab... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2018
MichelleMoore84
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 178 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chester
from USD 20.90
More Info
from USD 9.80
More Info
from USD 10.40
More Info
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
72
57
22
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
57
22
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helps visitors free leaflets victorian town usual tourist helpful man northgate street purchase tickets a stones throw walking tour starting point for sale answer questions alice in wonderland eastgate clock on display roman gardens tours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of maps and brochures of places to visit. We wanted directions to a specific attraction and the staff were more than happy to give us directions.

Thank PixiebelRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The centre is of course useful but I was a bit disappointed in the fact that there were very few free booklets on offer

Thank wendygillw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t miss the walking tour, make a reservation. Extremely professional, knowledgeable and funny. Had a great time today.

Thank Camila50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Each day at 10:30 a (pay for), 90 minute walking tour of the city starts from the visitor centre. Led by one of the highly experienced tour guide team the easy paced walking tour gives you an excellent introduction to the history of the city with loads of details you might otherwise miss.
The tour includes a walk along part of the old wall before ending up back at the visitor centre.
NOTE The tour does not include a visit inside the Cathedral which can be done for free (hopefully with you making a donation!).

Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

When I arrived in Chester and went to my hotel, I found I'd been scammed online, and lost my money. So I hurried to the Information Centre to find somewhere else to stay. A nice helpful man explained that they no longer assist with finding accommodation, as most people can arrange it online - but what about us oldies who don't have smartphones??! I was quite annoyed, particularly when he just gave me a long list of accommodation which just showed names and numbers, with no further information. I had to go to the library to use a computer, and found a bed for the night, but if the library had been closed, I would have been left in the lurch. I think it is a disgrace that Tourist Information no longer helps visitors with accommodation, as it is so inconsiderate to the many people that do not have their own internet access, or can't use computers.

Thank Gin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Litterally a stones throw from the Cathedral, next to to the Town Hall, we popped in here and got a free map & some "what to do" guides. The map was quite handy as it saved having to keep whipping my mobile phone out to check where everything was. It also gave us ideas for areas we had not yet explored and other places to see/things to do.

Thank jackinbox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very well versed staff and plenty of information to hand. Nothing too much trouble and the facility is a key element of Chester

Thank Boatyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

A small little palce next to the Town Hall where you can book up tours, zoo trips, bus trips, grab some gifts and a few local maps. They guys in there seem to know their stuff and are helpful

Thank MichelleMoore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

After my Sister and I had been to the amazing Cathedral we went across the road to the Information centre to see if we could get some gifts for our families. We found quite a few nice things some absolutely lovely stuff and good quality but quite expensive. Very nice staff apart from one young woman who completely ignored me and didn't even know I was there walked right in front of me and nearly knocked me down as she was talking to another member of staff about the song that was on right then and danced round the corner. But all in all a very nice visit :)

Thank DanceGal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Not only an info centre but a museum as well with a large range of things to see and experience. It had a nice little cafe too

Thank pixierooevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews