We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing - close to the town centre...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chester Canal View

Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Large shower cubicle........................Kitchenette with breakfast basket.
What else do you need to relax and enjoy visiting Chester?
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by night
Romantic and what an outlook?
Misty morning over the Water Tower
Your view to the snowy lock in Winter (hopefully just winter!!)
Splendid quiet country environment,yet still in the heart of Chester
Dusk at Tower Wharf and the Dee Basin, a mass of history surrounds you at Chester Canal View.
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free secure parking!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebsUKFla
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, relaxing - close to the town centre, city walls, canals and a great pub”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location very close to the canal and city walls. Just a short stroll away is the city centre and also Chester race course. This bijou apartment has a comfortable double bed, small kitchenette and a great shower, The weather during our stay was unseasonably warm allowing us to take advantage of the balcony area. Ducks and swans were enjoying bobbing around on the canal and we could watch the people walking around the wall. Its such a tranquil area its hard to believe that its so close to the railway. Just over the road you will find yourself on the canal footpath and the adventurous can walk along the 16 mile route to Ellesmere port. If instead you head off to the right a very short walk will find you at the foot of the city walls. Take a walk up the steps and turning left at the top will take you to the city centre. If you turn right you will soon find yourself at the race course. A two mile circuit of the walls is to be recommended,Telford's Warehouse is close by on the canal and is a great bar and restaurant. We had a fantastic meal here for my birthday thanks to our host Ken recommending it to us. As well as being a fantastic restaurant and bar (with a wide range of beers and other alcoholic beverages), it is also an awesome live music venue with something on every night,
Ken lives above the apartment and gave us a very warm welcome and provided us with lots of help and advice. The apartment is in a gated community and the neighbours we met were all very friendly too, It was great having somewhere safe and close to park our car and we didn't have to use it at all during our stay as everything was so close by. We will definitely be staying here again and cannot thank Ken enough for our wonderful stay. The surprise basket of goodies that he gave me for my birthday was so lovely, A breakfast basket that he provides for your stay is full of lovely goodies too. . .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is as I titled this. It is small but perfectly contained. Ken is a great host who can't do enough for you. The bed is large and comfortable. The shower is wonderful. The kitchen area is good but you won't cook a Sunday roast in it. The location is fabulous and you have safe car parking included. I will come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick N An...
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very nice but very small”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This room is situated on the canal with a beautiful view it is very peaceful .The room itself was absolutely immaculate and very well equipped with everything you could need for a few days Ken who owns the apartment is very helpful if you need anything .However we stopped here for 4 days and had the same towels for the duration would of been nice to have had fresh ones ,also we think for 4 days the room is very small but we was out most of the time anyway .We think for a cpl of days it would be fine we enjoyed our stay but felt with another person being in the same apartment we never felt completely on our own .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you Nick and Angela for your review. I do apologise for the towels, I normally change these for longer stays but being the Christmas week , I was out and about with family and it completely slipped my mind, I am sorry for that. Although the apartment is a part of a larger property, it is fully self contained and you should not in any way be disturbed during your stay other than for any agreed essential maintenance which I accept was the case one afternoon when the British Gas repairman had to check if your radiator was fully working ok. I am sorry if that made you feel at all uncomfortable and I will try to schedule this better in the future. Thank you for the kind comments you made and I hope you will return to Chester in the future. Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louannhoo...
kent
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location and secure parking”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you want somewhere cosy and comfortable with canal views, private parking and in walking distance of all that Chester has to offer then you should stay here. It is ideal. Very quiet position and immaculately clean,it has a good en suite shower and a quirky little kitchenette with a very generous breakfast basket stuffed with more than we could need for our 3 day stay. Even fresh fruit and yoghurt plus cheese and ham. The owner Ken is very friendly and helpful and we got a good welcome when we arrived. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture62...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfect girly weekend. Fantastic location. We shopped til we dropped! Room had everything and more that we needed. Ken has thought of everything! Will definitely book again and recommend to friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing