We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but reasonable value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laburnum House

Laburnum House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laburnum House
Ranked #69 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average but reasonable value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

On the plus side, the owner was very friendly and welcoming, the bathroom was clean and modern and the shower very good, the breakfast was nice, and the tea and coffee making facilites ample.

On the negative side, the location is a bit odd - although very convenient for both the station and the city, the B & B is at the end of a small row of victorian terraced houses very near an apparently disused building site and next to a busyish road. I found it quite hard to sleep at night as it was quite humid but opening the window meant being disturbed by the noise of passing cars. I also found it quite hard to find the B & B initally even with the aid of a map.

The room was ok, although perhaps a little small. The standard of cleanliness was adequate.

Bearing in mind price and the convenient location, it represented reasonable value for money, although I would probably choose to stay somewhere else if I retuned to Chester.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidr4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    9
    9
    15
See reviews for
9
24
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

The hosts are very warm and friendly however, the accomodation does leave much to be desired. The main problem is the building needs some modernisation and a smell of damp within the room can be smelt. The house does have a frying smell to it which can put you off. The family room was very small but we were well looked after with clean bedding, refreshments tray and clean towels. The breakfast was of a good standard and set you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

isle of man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

the room smelt damp,the cups in our room were dirty as were the spoons, their idea of cleaning is to sweep dirt under bed and crumbs into drawers, shower was mouldy. had a top sheet on first night which disappeared then our sons disappeared after 3 nights ????????? breakfast was ok and they seem nice people but they really need to discover what bleach is .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manxrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stopped here for three nights.
Following the negative comments from others, I would like to add a few additional notes.
Yes the rooms and bathrooms could do with a refurb. But at present the current owners are looking to sell - hence why they haven't done the work.
I would strongly disagree with the comments that the place was dirty, I think it was cleaned to a good standard.
The service was excellent, the owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and tea / coffee making facilities are provided.
The location is fantastic. Close to town and the train station. I would recommend this to anyone planning a weekend in Chester on a low budget, its a great place to stay and as a simple base it is ideal.
It is obvious when booking this B&B that it is a 'cosy' and basic place to stay. Anyone who is not happy to accept rooms which may be a little dated in decor should avoid Laburnum house and go for the typical Travelodge or Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

I had planned a trip to Chester Zoo for myself and daughter, this B&B was ideally situated for the Zoo and town. I was given a friendly welcome and keys to No5 a ground floor bedroom with a double and single bed. The room smelt stale probably from the fried food cooked daily from the dining area opposite the room. The bathroom was disgusting: limescale and mould in sink and shower. The glasses and cups obviously had not been cleaned for a while. I complained to the owner , who was very apologetic and had someone attempt to clean the room. In the end i bought bleach from Somerfield and cleaned everything myself. Breakfast was fried and once again, the glasses, cups, coffee pot was grubby. Unfortunately i had paid upfront for the 2 nights. Or i would have went elsewhere.

.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkin015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.0 km away
Maison Claire
Maison Claire
#37 of 81 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#11 of 26 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
#20 of 26 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#52 of 81 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum House

Property: Laburnum House
Address: 2 St. Anne Street, Chester CH1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price range (per night): $93 - $140
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing