We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for large family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grooms Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Cottages in Milton Brook Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dave g
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for large family”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with my young family and my mother and father in law and we all had a great stay. A short drive to Chester centre and a easy drive into Liverpool city centre. Lots to see and do with a lovely pub at the end of the road. (The Stamford bridge). Pool was a bonus and same for the pool table.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cleaning and maintenance staff were very friendly and helpful which was nice, the cottage itself in the living room and kitchen area was alright, some of the bedroom carpets had a few stains and decor in places was a little tired, however due to the kindness of the staff we were happy to overlook this. We could only get wifi on the landing or in one bedroom nearest the landing, so I had to sit on the landing to reply to emails. The pool room (again in need of a little maintenance) did keep our children happy but we had to try not to look at the ripped sofa covers in there which really needed to be dumped.) Basically if your not to fussy decor wise this was a great holiday rental, having a pool onsite that you can use anytime was a huge plus. however, i wasn't in love with the place enough to return or recommend to friends unless it is refurbished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Decor in pool and games room.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy H
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Relaxing!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us stayed for a mini break. There was loads of room & the cottage was immaculate. The added bonus of the pool was amazing & the setting was so quiet & tranquil. Not far from the center of Chester or Cheshire Oaks a fantastic break. We will definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baberuth...
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not quite A1”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I chose this location for a half term break with my two grand-daughters because it was close to Chester and there was a swimming pool on site.

On arrival we were impressed by the clean airy rooms and pleasant staff, although a lick of paint and a spot of carpet cleaner was needed in one or two areas. The cottage was well equipped and parking available so close made moving in easy.

The girls chose their bedroom and were eager to go for a swim. However the pool heating was broken and the pool was icy cold and remained so for the whole of our time at cottage. This left the adults somewhat annoyed and the children very very disappointed. It made our visit less enjoyable and feel it unlikely I would book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location/ staff
Liked least: being unable to enjoy using the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahills555
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This accommodation is ideal, great location and great friendly staff.

Swimming pool that was ideal, we were the only people in it for three days.

If you want to visit Chester, 10 mins to park and ride, and 15 minutes to Chesser Oaks.

Would definatley return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and friendly staff
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing