We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oddfellows(Chester)
USD 272
USD 263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 153
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 154
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 107
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester Court(Chester)
USD 114
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 158
USD 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 109
USD 93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 173
USD 148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
759
13
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
759
13
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty baroverlooking the rivercopper bathmolton brown toiletriestelephone boxriverview balconyhigh bedglass of proseccojelly beanson arrivalreubengarden terrace roomjunior suitecinema roomafternoon teatasting menusmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Stopped at this gem of a hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.
Absolute luxury, great staff.
I think it was the attention to the smallest detail that made it for me. From being met & welcomed at the front door by the desk manager (who knew our names) to the ice water flask in the rooms, silk net tea bags ...............I won't spoil it for you with more details. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear Stephen
Thank you very much indeed for your very lovely review. We very much enjoyed yours and Christine's company, and I hope that we can welcome you both back again sometime soon. Thank you once again. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I was slightly worried about all the 5 star reviews on here for Edgar House as it all seemed to good to be true... turns out it deserves many more than 5 stars, what a truly fantastic place!

The setting on the river bank with its own private car park with your own space reserved makes it a perfect base for exploring Chester, business or even just to chill out over looking the river with a drink in the lovely private back "garden".

Service from every single member of staff was personal and superb. Everyone, everytime!

The hotel itself is beautiful and every item of furniture or fitting is of quality. Right down to the chrome window locks! Our suite was large, quiet and had great views of the river. It was spotlessly clean and though we didnt use the enormous copper bath its a unusual but interesting touch!

We only had breakfast in the hotel and this was good value for three courses and wonderfully cooked food, not your usual mass made breakfast rubbish!

Value wise I stayed in the Chester Grosvenor in an "upgrade room" that was significanlty more expensive than our suite in Edgar House. Edgar House beats the Grosvenor in every single aspect: location, service, quality, parking, staff, everything! I did tell the very nice owners this at check out and we will absolutely be staying at Edgar House in the future.

One of my best hotel experiences anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: If budget permits go for a balcony room
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear Scott
What an amazing review from you. It's very humbling. Thank you very much indeed for that and for coming to stay, and I hope we can welcome you back another time soon. Thanks again. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful on arrival. Our room was simply stunning with fantastic facilities, it had a lovely balcony overlooking the weir where we had a nice relaxing glass of wine and watched the world go by. We ate dinner in their restaurant too, food was delicious and wine choice was really well thought out and varied, service in the restaurant was excellent and the same again at breakfast, all food was prepped and presented with lots of care and attention. Thanks for a lovely stay, we will definitely be back again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear Andrea
What a lovely review, thank you ever so much :)
We're thrilled that you and Paul enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back again. Thank you again Andrea. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

River view Deluxe room for 2 nights in March 2016
Feedback code H4GB4ol
This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a classy treat with excellent service. Personally we didn't mind paying the room rate as it was well worth every penny.
Very tasteful, clean and atmosphere welcoming and relaxing
Room had comfortable bed, river views, luxury bathroom
All of the staff were dedicated to their craft and the hosts have a lovely knack of putting guests at ease.
Well done to all and we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are slightly noisy due to proximity river view is worth it - river view deluxe room is fab
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2016

Dear Sue
What a really lovely review. Thank you very much indeed, it is very much appreciated. We're thrilled you and Carol enjoyed your stay with us in Chester, and I hope we can welcome you back again :) Thank you again Sue. Very best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Great beds, room, food. EXCELLENT service and friendly staff and owners. A birthday treat that was wonderful. Within easy distance from Chester Wall and center. The location was a welcome respite from the bustle of the town. Great garden for breakfast lunch, afternoon tea, drinks and dinner. Delightful view over the river. Look forward to visiting again and tasting the deliciously different lip licking breakfast....its a must try.

Room Tip: Suite with windows overlooking river are delightful with fairy lights in trees lit in evening. Lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2016

Dear Sue
Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. We're delighted you and Peter enjoyed Chester itself and Edgar House. It was lovely meeting you both. Do come back again soon :)
Thanks again Sue, best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews