We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
775
13
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
13
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar overlooking the river copper bath molton brown toiletries telephone box riverview balcony cinema room high bed glass of prosecco jelly beans on arrival reuben garden terrace room junior suite afternoon tea tasting menu small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Stayed here for one night. Very friendly greeting after finding our own reserved named car parking space! Beautifully appointed room with views over the garden to the river and weir. Excellent service and fabulous breakfast. Thank you. PS You're not going mad.... the river does go quiet/silent.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear DavyLee
Many thanks indeed for your great review, very kind of you. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Over the last couple of years I have had numerous afternoon teas at various locations, usually rather second rate affairs, but this is proper afternoon tea, with just the right proportions of sandwiches, cakes and scones. The waiter (or patron, not sure) discussed the sandwiches and types of tea with us, and made sure everything was to our liking. Service was excellent without being too intrusive, the ambience is delightful, and the food was delicious. There was a good selection of teas, and we were offered a second pot. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Lynne. Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. We're ever so please you enjoyed yourselves and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many thanks again Lynne. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We are staying here for two nights whilst on a recent shopping trip to Chester. The previous reviews on trip advisor were spot on and I would highly recommend you try this hotel out when visiting Chester. Booking over the phone was a novelty but it sets the scene for how they like to do things at Edgar House. The personal touch is key to their success. Added advantage is glass of prosecco on arrival which goes down a treat along with homemade chocolate truffles.

The location is perfect being right in the heart of Chester, on the riverbank but oh so quiet. The only sound to be heard last night was the sound of the river flowing quietly past the window. Added bonus of city centre car parking and no need to move car as everywhere is walkable.

We arrived to a reserved parking space followed up by a lovely personal greeting at the front door. We were shown to our room and then shown around our accommodation. The room has everything you will need and nothing seems to be too much to ask for. Classic FM playing on the TV when you arrive was very pleasant. There is fresh coffee in the cafetière, chilled ice water in a flask, plenty of room to move around in and Molton Brown products in the bathroom. We had a first floor river view room which for the view alone is worth the money. Downstairs there is an honesty bar and residents lounge with enough reading material to keep any bookworm happy. Two things stand out as showing someone has tried to think as a guest thinks - a light above the key to your room door means no messing around trying to get key into lock (try it and you will see what I mean) and a nightlight in the room to make those midnight bathroom runs not so much of an obstacle course.

Breakfast in the morning is something else. The smiley service from the staff to the daily menu sheet with the weather for the day is just another one of those personal touches that make this hotel so different. There is no breakfast bar you select what you want and it is brought to your table. Fruit juice, coffee, fresh fruit to full breakfast it is up to you what you want. Freshly made and served with a smile a great way to start a days shopping in Chester.

If you are looking for somewhere where the personal touch is at the centre of what they do then book a room at Edgar House. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Alan
Gosh! What can we say! Thank you ever so much for your outstanding review. And also a first - a review being written whilst still present in the hotel :) We're thrilled you and Susan enjoyed your stay with us Alan, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many thanks indeed. Best wishes,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

any place highly recommended you always take with a pinch of salt,however in this case it lived up to all expectations.The menu limited as it is exceeded in every way not a morsel left on any plate (6) after each course.Service & atmosphere attentive & relaxed at the same time.Some could consider it expensive however when bill submitted paid with no hesitation.Regarding the hotel , perfect location for visiting Chester.Tried hard too find something to complain about but failed miserably.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Dear Chris
Thank you ever so much for your great review. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The time, thought and attention to detail at Edgar House is second to none.

Beyond its impeccable style, the level of comfort and space could not be bettered.

I always judge a breakfast by the quality of the sausage! My wife and I have been fortunate to stay at some luxurious hotels around the world - Edgar House's sausage takes the gold medal with ease!

The best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in. Along with people from the UK, we urge people worldwide to put a stay at Edgar House in their itinerary. A great location to explore the UK managed by an ever attentive small team. The epitome of excellence.

E and A, Shrewsbury UK

Room Tip: All are great
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDWARD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Edgar House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015

Dear Edward
Wow! What can we say? Thank you ever so much for such an amazing review. And we're thrilled you enjoyed our award winning sausages! :) I hope we can welcome you and Annica again another time soon. Thanks again Edward. Best wishes, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews