We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, very poor and oh poor.”
Review of The Victoria Pub

The Victoria Pub
Ranked #11 of 50 Quick Bites in Chester
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Called in today for lunch, good old fashioned pub just the thing I like to support. Ordered 2 drinks and asked the barman if he could hold off payment until we had decided what we wanted to eat. No tabs in here I was told and had to pay separately. This almost put me off and I wish it had. My "homemade" curry was passable but the wife shepherds pie was diabolical. Dry catering chips in this day and age are just disappointing. This could have been a great experience in a great pub in the heart of Chester but it was just rubbish and oh yes when I went to the loo the chef came in had a pee and didn't wash his hands. Poor.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

This pub is on one of the rows and so is amidst the ambience of the historical rows. It has lots of little snug areas and serves good food and good beer. It is very popular though so you may have to hunt for a table but well worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 961SueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Enjoyed the beautiful very large bowl of soup and crusty bread. Staff friendly and welcoming. A nice atmosphere. Didn't wait long for our soup which was hot and rolls were warm and fresh. As one of the bar staff went off duty he presented me and my friend with a Cadbury's cream egg. A lovely gesture to two ladies no longer in the first flush of youth.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ablanchflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Went in for a 'home cooked' lunch whilst visiting Chester. The fish and chips I ordered was inedible. Very overcooked fish with hard batter and the fish inside dried to nothing. The chips were frozen and were pale and not properly cooked. I returned this meal and asked for a chicken alternative which was not much better. My companion's fish wasn't overcooked but had no seasoning. Would not recommend this pub for food.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HAREM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

my friend and I had sunday lunch here whilst on holiday in chester. In terms of value for money and the quality of food it was one of the best sunday lunches we have had. The service was great and the staff very friendly

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Pub also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Victoria Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing