We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
139
112
42
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
112
42
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building courtyard room full english small hotel breakfast was excellent city centre faulkner street short stay hoole village wifi signal within walking distance single room off road parking cooked breakfast hotel grounds yogurt long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Would highly recommend staying at this hotel, very friendly staff, very helpful, hotel itself is clean, breakfasts were superb, served by a very attentive and pleasant young lady, very hot weather made a walk into Chester an effort , so we took the car the next day , plenty of car parks at £5 all day, Nathan most obliging in directing you to the best car park, and will also sort you out a discount for Chester Zoo entrance, lots of places to eat nearby, but make sure you book for the Chinese restaurant, we walked down there on a Tuesday evening and it was full! There is a choice of eateries along Faulkner Road , a few minutes fwalk from the hotel.....Enjoy !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PINNOCHIO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We had the twin room on the first floor, at the front of the house. Even with it being a busy road, it did not disturb us during the night... even with the side window open. It was a bit tight with our luggage, but we managed. The desk was occupied by the TV, which might have been better attached to the wall.. no where to put one's laptop.
The room had loads of windows, and was nice and bright even on gloomy days.
We walked to town each day, and that was quite manageable, even being a mile out of town.
Staff was friendly, and helpful.
And just to reiterate: Excellent breakfasts, which were included in the room rate.

Room Tip: All rooms in the house are reached by stairs. There are ground floor motel style rooms at the back of the hotel, with a courtyard garden.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on 10th June at this fab little hotel
We stayed here as we went to Chester races we walked from the hotel to the races which took us about 25 minutes
The hotel was great the lady who checked us in sorry didn't get her name was friendly and very helpful she served us breakfast the next day and she couldn't do enough for us nothing was too much trouble
The room we stayed in was 12 it was in the annexe it was very clean and there was everything you needed tea coffee shower gel etc
It was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable
The breakfast was gorgeous we had the full English and lots of drinks and toast
If you are going to Chester stay here
Thanks to the hotel and staff for a lovely stay we will definitely stay again
Marie and Neil

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bettybooliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We booked this hotel for a two night stay in Chester, picking it from the reviews and its location. We chose our room from photographs of the rooms available at the time we booked.
The hotel is really well positioned on the main road into Chester and is set far enough back so that the traffic does not disturb you. The carpark is spacious enough for all customers. It is about a 20 minute walk into the centre of the Old City of Chester, which I define as the Cathedral and Town Hall area.
The staff were friendly and very helpful when it came to local places to eat.
There was a good choice of food for breakfast, including full English and a range of smaller cooked breakfast meals, as well as cereals, fruit and pastries.
The room we were initially given was not quite what we expected, but (unknown to us) we had booked on a race week-end, and there were no other rooms available. We stayed our first night in an attic room which, due to the configuration of the roof/ceiling, created some headroom issues. The next day we were moved to a room at the front of the property that matched our expectations and had a more pleasant second night.
Both rooms had an excellent selection of toiletries, tea, coffee and chocolate together with some biscuits. The televisions were a good size.

Room Tip: The attic room was awkward due to the configuration of the ceiling.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We stayed here for just one night but it was well worth it. Our room was not in the main building but in an attached building at the rear. It was a large room and beautifully appointed. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre. The staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was very good. This hotel is great value and certainly should be considered.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews