We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
48
96
117
105
193
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
96
117
105
193
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel was ideal for what we needed. Rooms were clean and a good size with comfy beds. Breakfast was good too. Could have done with more pillows though.

The outside of the hotel can be a bit off putting but once inside it a ok.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Had a great stay here.staff extremely helpful.the bar prices are the cheapest in town.beds are comfy and the breakfast is lovely.there is a bus stop just outside the hotel that takes you to the city,it's a good walk away but once your there it's a great city to have a wander round.take plenty of cash with you... it's very expensive,especially if you like a drink.
Chester zoo is less than 2 miles away which was a good day out.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Not very modern and the parts they’ve tried to modernise look tacky. Beds are comfortable enough. Pricey for what you get £43 for just outside of the city centre!
If it was cheaper I’d probably stay again as it’s ok for a place to stay after a night out.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TheLocalFoodEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I really feel for the reception staff here, they were lovely and so friendly, but that is where the positives end.
I emailed the hotel a few weeks ago explaining due to budget etc, it was the only break i was having with my girls and that i was nervous about reviews i had read post booking.
Given it was a few weeks in advance they said they would look to give me a more recently refurbished room as they wouldn't let me cancel wothout loosing full balance.

The curtains were hanging off, old sash windows with no security stops, rusty radiators, heavily stained wallpaper, no spare blankets or more than one pillow each, clearly my request had just been ignored. Arrived at 1:25pm with check in at two, asked if room was ready if we would check in, even though with two children - refused.

For an extra £20 a night, can go somewhere much much better.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Royston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This is a 2 star property. It is very basic and definitely a no frills hotel. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant and that is the only good thing about it. A plus is the location. Hoole Road is very central with plenty of choice for eating and there are some nice pubs in Hoole. The hotel is a not clean and we were put in the annex outside of the hotel and I would not recommend these to anyone on their own as they have no security. Our room had a dirty carpet and a bathroom with a broken window and plenty of spiders. The noise from the bathroom was loud enough to keep us awake and was invasive and annoying. The concrete outside of the room was littered with cigarette ends. Overall tired dated and dirty.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews