We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
USD 273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 99
USD 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 107
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester Court(Chester)
USD 115
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 159
USD 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,432)
Filter reviews
3,432 results
Traveller rating
1,578
1,038
485
204
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,578
1,038
485
204
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe marco pierre white restaurantmpw restaurantdouble treewarm cookieshoole halloutdoor jacuzzion arrivalspa facilitiespresidential suitelovely hotelgarden roomgreat spamy partnerbuilding worklovely groundsrelaxation roomspa break
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 3,432 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

I chose to stay at this hotel as we were planning on visiting Chester Zoo during our visit and this was one of the closest to the attraction (no more than a 10 minute drive). I checked online at other local hotels before booking and although more expensive, it seemed the best fit for us.

The drive/entrence of the hotel is undeniably beautiful with a jaw dropping water fountain surrounded by a small lake. There was a great amount of free parking for the guests. The reception area is modern with a revolving door entrence, although I liked the look of the door it did cause some slight issues with my suitcase as I tried to get through. The check in was quick and easy and we was given our warm welcome cookies, always a plus.

Our room was on the first floor which you can either get the lift too or the stairs if you so desire. It was a King Guest Room which was very spacey, fashionable and welcoming. The room and hotel were very clean and the complmentary toilitories were a nice additon. Unfortunatley my in room fridge was not working so after calling down to reception they sent up a gentleman to have a look, he could not fix it and instead gave us two drinks vouchers for the bar and a bucket of ice. Whilst it was a nice gesture, I felt a little more could have been done considering the ice bucket would be melted by the morning, leaving me without any where to keep things cool. It wasn’t the biggest problem in the workd, but considering the price you are paying for the room then it is understandable. The bed was larger than I had expected and was firm which to me was a little uncomfotable but that is personal opinion. As for the pillows they feel like they are full of air and when you lay on them they are almost flat, again this is my personal opinion but I was not impressed.

We did not use the Spa facilities so can not comment on that, however the prices seemed reasonable. I did notice there is an additonal charge to use the swimming pool which I find a little excessive. We did however have dinner in the Garden Room & Roof Terrace. The decor is as you would expect from a high end resteraunt,the service and food though was not. We waited 15 mintues after being seated for our drinks order and 20 minutes from ordering the starter to it being at the table. The wait for mains again was a fair amount of time and the food really wasnt worth the wait. Greasy and bland, not what you would expect from a resteraunt charging the prices they do. There is also a 10% service charge added to the bill.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, especially if visiting the zoo. There are other local attractions including a large scale designer fashion outlet, aquarium and lots more.

All in all a nice stay and would return but could do with some improvements.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Nathan H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for sharing your review of your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester. It is great to hear that you our grounds exceeded your expectations, although we are just off a dual carriageway, we do not suffer with traffic noise and the grounds are more in keeping with a country house hotel.

Your constructive comments regarding the in room facilities are greatly appreciated as well as how the matter was dealt with by the team. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and feedback like yours will only help us in this quest.

Our service charge is discretionary and will be removed upon request, however from your comments it would appear that there were some failings in our service delivery in the Garden Room, which again will be acted upon.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

I arranged for 7 of us to stay over as a surprise for our friends birthday. 5 of the girls arrived, checked in and went to hide in one of the rooms. I then arrived with the birthday girl and did a 'fake' check in so she wouldn't realise the others were there. All was done perfectly and the surprise kept a secret. The whole stay was lovely. We enjoyed relaxation in the beautiful spa and a breakfast with plenty of choice the following morning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jayneyc852018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear jaynec852018,

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us, and also for taking the time to share your lovely 5 out of 5 review of your time here.

Our team love being able to help our guests celebrate birthdays and it is great to hear that we were able to assist you with your surprise.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed here for my mums 60th when we arrived we thought wow!! Absolutely stunning and stunning grounds. We’d booked a king size junior suite as it was a special occasion, so me, my mum and 2 sisters could stay in the same room and have a pamper evening, as it says it sleeps 4 adults, we walked in the room and straight away saw the bed settee, there was no way that could sleep two adults. ( picture of sofa bed included would be very snug, and shouldn’t be sold as sleeps 4 people) This is the only reason we are giving it a 4 and not a 5. So we went down to reception and one member of staff said well we can put you a roll out bed next to it, but that wouldn’t be luxury which is what we paid for. We asked to speak with the reception manager. Danielle came out and was absolutely amazing, we can’t thank her enough, as the hotel was booked the only other option we had was to get a separate double room, which was no extra cost luckily and also we hadn’t paid for the spa as it was an extra cost so she paid for unlimited access too, Danielle is an asset to the double tree Hilton and she made my mums birthday night away amazing. Thanks xxx

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emsaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Emsaz83,

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion as your mother's birthday, and it is so pleasing to hear that Danielle was able to leave you with a positive, lasting impression on you all.

We would always much prefer to be made aware of anything that can be improved, whilst our guests are staying with us, as we then have the opportunity to Make it Right. Thank you for giving Danielle that opportunity and she is so pleased to hear that she was able to assist you with your concerns and ensure your comfort and satisfaction for you and especially your mother.

Should your travels bring you back to Chester we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We booked a 2 night stay, we arrived just before 3pm and found lovely looking buildings, nice car park and very clear signage. Reception was spot on, pleasant staff. I was shocked to be asked for £15 for a swim though. I think if you are resident it should be free. Our 1st floor room was lovely, a good size, king bed. However the floor to ceiling window/door was a surprise (health & safety) a sticker on the door handle said it would tilt and turn. It would'nt. The air conditioning was faulty and was stuck on 24*.
We complained, we were given another room. This was smaller, but clean and tidy. So we were happy. We changed to go out for dinner. Unfortunately the basin in the bathroom was cracked all the way round and the plug in the basin was faulty.
We did not say anything because we never normally moan or complain. Other than that it was very good, the bar, restaurant and the food almost perfect.

Room Tip: Garden view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BorrowdaleUnite... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear BorrowdaleUnite...F

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest, constructive comments regarding your time with us here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meals that you found our restaurant and bar to your liking. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reallocate your room when your concerns were reported, however we are sorry to hear that there were issues with your sink area.

Should your travels bring you back to Chester in the future, we would very much like to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a spa weekend here for my friend's 30th birthday. Beautiful hotel, great rooms, beyond helpful staff, the spa was lush and delicious breakfast (veggie sausages made to order). Simply perfect!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and also for taking the time to share your lovely review of your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially breakfast!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews